ARC Review: Fragile Line by Brooklyn Skye

18516005

Title: Fragile Line

Author: Brooklyn Skye

Release Date: April 21, 2014

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Genre: YA Contemporary/Realistic

Source: eARC (259 pages) via publisher

Rating: 3 STARS

Add to Goodreads


Brief Synopsis

It can happen in a flash. One minute, she’s kissing her boyfriend, the next she’s lost in the woods. Sixteen-year-old Ellie Cox is losing time.It started out small…forgetting a drive home or a conversation with a friend. But her blackouts are getting worse, more difficult to disguise as forgetfulness. When Ellie goes missing for three days, waking up in the apartment of a mysterious guy-a guy who is definitely not her boyfriend, her life starts to spiral out of control.

Review

For the most part, this book was a good read. At times I felt it very cliche (or predictable). I have first hand knowledge of mental disorders stemmed from childhood trauma, so this wasn’t something that is new to me. After I read the synopsis, I just knew that I needed to read this book.

Ellie has blackouts. As you are reading you piece together the cause, or rather I did, very quickly. She is behaving recklessly, due to her alternate personality, Gwen. She really has no clue that Gwen exists until halfway through, which is normal for people with mental illness. It took my sister a year to grasp it. Ellie begins piecing together her traumatic childhood, all the while, Gwen is in control of her body.

This is a good book, especially if you don’t understand mental disorders. My sister suffers from DID (dissociative identity disorder), so I pretty much had a clue as to what was going on from the moment I started reading this book. I, however, don’t think it’s a book that i’ll be reading over and over. I think more people should understand, or care, about mental disorders and how to deal with them. A quick read which I think you’ll enjoy.

3 STARS misc_58misc_58misc_58

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

