Mini Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

7833099

Title: Fallen

Author: Lauren Kate

Release Date: December 8, 2009

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Paperback

Source: Purchased 

Genre: YA/Paranormal/Fantasy/Romance

Rating: 3 STARS

GOODREADSAMAZON


From Goodreads:  There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce- he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find  out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret….even if it kills her.

Review

Angels. That’s enough for me to want to read it. After my cousin suggested that I read this, I went ahead and bought it. It sat on my shelf for a long time (if the dust was any indication). And while I did like it, it was too slow on parts, and too fast on others.

We start off with Luce, the MC, getting sent off to a reform school. I felt bad for her in a way because of all that she has been through- what with the psych meds and the whole death of  the boy she was with at a beach party. Moving on… So at Sword & Cross, we meet Daniel. This is where I wanted to scream at Luce for being so naive! Daniel treats her like crap, yet she is drawn to him. She has Cam, the green-eyed boy, pining for her, while the boy she wants, Daniel, is trying his best to stay away from her. 

I mean, the whole school is like super creepy! Cemetery and the gym that used to be a church? If that’s not bad enough, the students themselves are walking around with tracking bracelets. It took too long to get to the point, and when it did, there were still things that I just needed to know. Luce is constantly seeing shadows and having dreams about Daniel. You kind of figure out little things here and there, but some things will still have you guessing. 

I liked it, but i’m not sure that i’ll buy the next book just yet. This series is not high on my to-read list. But it is a good paranormal to read, especially if you are into angels. I mean, Daniel is no Raffe, but the story is okay.

3 STARS misc_58misc_58misc_58

2 thoughts on “Mini Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

  1. Nice review, I’ve been contemplating on buying this book for awhile. Do you think that the vague areas of the book will be covered in the sequel? Maybe Lauren Kate purposely left things out to get her readers to move on to the next book.

    Oh…have you read the Hush, Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick? It has angels and forbidden romances 😛

    Like

    • Yes, as there are at least 3(?) more books in this series. I just can’t jump into them at the moment. I’ve not read Hush Hush yet, but it is on my to read list.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

