Review: Cinderella’s Dress by Shonna Slayton

 

18630484

Title: Cinderella’s Dress

Author: Shonna Slayton

Release Date: June 3, 2014

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Genre: YA/Historical Fiction

Format: ebook (340 pages)

Source: Publisher (for review)

Rating: 2 Stars

Goodreads


Synopsis: Being seventeen during World War II is tough. Finding out you’re the next keeper of the real Cinderella’s dresses is even tougher.
Kate simply wants to create window displays at the department store where she’s working, trying to help out with the war effort. But when long-lost relatives from Poland arrive with a steamer trunk they claim holds the Cinderella’s dresses, life gets complicated.
Now, with a father missing in action, her new sweetheart, Johnny, stuck in the middle of battle, and her great aunt losing her wits, Kate has to unravel the mystery before it’s too late.

After all, the descendants of the wicked stepsisters will stop at nothing to get what they think they deserve.

Review: I really wanted to love this book! Look at that cover. How can you not want to read it after looking at said cover and reading the synopsis? Historical Fiction is one of my favorite genres, and I always dive at the opportunity to read as many HF books as possible. This one did not leave me wanting more. Which is sad, because it has the potential to be great. The MC steered me in the other direction on this one.

Kate Kate Kate! She really got on my nerves. While trying to make it big, she really did stupid things. Another thing, there are several things that did not connect with me. What is the history behind Kate’s family and the dresses. This felt like a prequel, simply because you really don’t get any major details about the dresses or Kate’s necklace. Why tell us about these things, but not give any reasons why? There has to be explanations behind this, because I was left with questions. So many questions!! 

I could have loved this book, if it were better detailed. Will there be another one to fill in the gaps? I’m not sure, but the ending makes me think that maybe there will be answers to the questions I seek. Sadly, I will not be reading it to find out. This is another book with a gorgeous cover and synopsis, but left me with nothing. I really hate this feeling. I don’t know if I’d recommend this book to anyone. Maybe it’s just me and others will like it.

2 Stars misc_58misc_58

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

