Mini Review: The Diamond Thief by Sharon Gosling

18853698

Release Date: December 1, 2014

Publisher: Capstone Switch Press

Genre: YA Historical/Mystery

Format: eARC 

Source: NetGalley

Rating: 4 Stars

Add To Goodreads


 

From Goodreads: No one performs on the circus trapeze like 16-year-old Rémy Brunel. But Rémy also leads another life, prowling through the backstreets of Victorian London as a jewel thief. When she is forced to steal one of the world’s most valuable diamonds, she uncovers a world of treachery and fiendish plots.

Meanwhile, young detective Thaddeus Rec is determined to find the jewel and clear his name. Will Thaddeus manage to rescue the jewel? Or is it really Rémy that he needs to save?

 

My Thoughts: I liked the steampunk feel of this book. However, this didn’t feel so much like a Victorian London book. Yes, there are parts that described certain landmarks and other details that I’ve read over the years of what London was like during that era. I think that Remy and Thaddeus could have had a better romance if it were about them actually spending the time to talk. Overall, I think the action and steampunk elements were very well described, which made me keep reading. I’d recommend for lovers of steampunk, not for the historical aspects. A quick read which I enjoyed reading.

4 STARS misc_58misc_58misc_58misc_58

One thought on “Mini Review: The Diamond Thief by Sharon Gosling

  1. I’m glad to hear you liked it! I requested this on Netgalley, but other bloggers have mixed feelings about it. I really hope it’ll be a good book. ^_^

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

