Review: Trinkets, Treasures, and Other Bloody Magic by Meghan Ciana Doidge

18878660 Release Date: December 7, 2013

Publisher: Old Man in the Crosswalk Productions

Series: The Dowser #2

Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal

Format: paperback

Source: Won via A Book Vacation

Rating: 3 Stars

Goodreads|Amazon

From Goodreads: Three months ago, I lost my foster sister, Sienna, to the darkness. As in blood magic and chaos and general mayhem. No one saw it until it was too late, but I should have. Now, I have a wounded heart and soul that I can’t even reveal to anyone around me, because I’m supposed to hate Sienna with the fiery passion of the justified. And I do. I just wish I didn’t feel so lost without her, so unsure of the path I thought I had carved for myself, and so outclassed by the powerful Adepts constantly by my side these days. I’m not even sure if they’re with me for my own protection or because my shiny new powers are rare and valuable. Assuming I ever figure out who or what I am, and how my magic actually works.
Even chocolate can’t save the day every time … just most of the time. At least I’ve got that going for me.

My Thoughts: I jumped right into this book, after reading the first one in the series. You can read my review HERE. After much contemplating, I can still only say that I like this series. And after liking 2 books, I don’t know if I will jump right into the next one so quickly. 

Although there were some questions answered in this book, it still fell a little flat for me. Maybe it’s the writing style, which is surely in need of editing. Some phrases need to be removed and replaced entirely. Jade also turned into the very predictable girl who hates/loves a guy just because he is so hot and she has no control. I liked her in the first book, but she’s like a totally different character in this book. What happened?

Jade is still in grief mode from the death of her sister, Sienna. That may explain the personality change that has happened. She’s more aware and alert, which is good, but she totally got whiny as well. The “surprise twists” aren’t really surprising at all. I found them to be cliche more than anything. This book isn’t better than the first, but it is still readable. I guess I had high expectations for this one, but sadly, it didn’t tie up well for me.

3 STARS misc_58misc_58misc_58

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

