Review: Ashes and Ice by Rochelle Maya Callen

15864513 Release Date: February 4, 2013

Publisher: C&C Legacy Publishing

Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Format: Paperback (284 pages)

Source: Won

Rating: 3 stars

Goodreads | Amazon

From Goodreads: She is desperate to remember.
He is aching to forget.
Together, they are not broken.
But together, one may not survive.

Jade wakes up with no memory of her past and blood on her hands. 

Plagued by wicked thoughts, she searches for answers. Instead, she finds a boy who doesn’t offer her answers, but hope. But sometimes, when nightmares turn into reality and death follows you everywhere, hope is not enough. 

LUST. LOVE. LOSS. Sometimes, all that is left are Ashes and Ice.

My Thoughts: Jade is a mystery to herself. She has a sort of amnesia (I say this because the memories come very often), and wakes up covered in blood. So she really isn’t 100% amnesiac, which caused this book to be more of a drag for me. All of the flitting from scene to scene was exhausting to read. Especially, when each scene is explained in short detail. I like to get the gist of the events when I’m reading a book such as this one. I can’t even comprehend what the characters are trying to convey with incoherent thoughts. This was the big let down for me, and I truly hate that because the story line is good. 

Some of the characters in this book just doesn’t seem to fit right with this story. Clara, for instance, has no sense of self preservation. I was like, “hello, Jade is a stranger whom you’ve just met. Why ask her to stay with you?” Then I kept reading and reading and reading, only getting nowhere. And then there’s Connor, who pulls at your heartstrings. He was so broken in his introduction to this story, but got his spark by the end. I actually preferred his POV to Jade’s, because he seemed the most coherent and had a story to tell. But Jade is the MC, why? 

The big mystery is revealed  at the end. For the life of me, I can’t figure out why the author did this. I get that you want the reader to be on the edge of their seats, but if that’s the case, why not make the story more mysterious instead of the constant dragging? The last half of this book is what really made me give it 3 stars. I was about to DNF it, but I pushed on through to finish. The point of the story is actually good, so if you don’t mind waiting through constant drivel, then read this book. I’m not sure if I will actually read the next book. This was just too much and too less at the same time. 

3 STARS misc_58misc_58misc_58

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

