Review: Linked by Imogen Howson

14999965Release Date: June 11, 2013

Series: Linked #1

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers

Genre: YA Dystopia/Science-Fiction

Format: ebook (368 pages)

Source: Free Read on PulseIt

Rating: 3 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon

DESCRIPTION Elissa used to have it all: looks, popularity, and a bright future. But for the last three years, she’s been struggling with terrifying visions, phantom pains, and mysterious bruises that appear out of nowhere.

Finally, she’s promised a cure: minor surgery to burn out the overactive area of her brain. But on the eve of the procedure, she discovers the shocking truth behind her hallucinations: she’s been seeing the world through another girl’s eyes. 

Elissa follows her visions, and finds a battered, broken girl on the run. A girl—Lin—who looks exactly like Elissa, down to the matching bruises. The twin sister she never knew existed. 

Now, Elissa and Lin are on the run from a government who will stop at nothing to reclaim Lin and protect the dangerous secrets she could expose—secrets that would shake the very foundation of their world. 

MY THOUGHTS Elissa has these vivid visions that are terrifying and painful. She has become somewhat of an outcast and basically has no friends. She has been to numerous doctors to figure out what is causing these visions of hers and just as she’s about to undergo a procedure to rid her of her hallucinations, she discovers the reason behind her pain. She is seeing the world through another girl’s, eyes and soon revealed to be her long lost twin sister. 

My first thought when I got into the story was Firefly. If you are a fan, then you can easily get caught up in this book. The world building in this story is good and I really liked the author’s take on the futuristic setting. My problem with this is the characters were rather bland in comparison to the heroines I’m used to reading about in Dystopian novels. Elissa was an okay character and while I tried to connect with her throughout, I didn’t start getting into it until Lin entered the picture. These two are similar in character, and it has every reason to do with the situation they’re in more than the obvious reason as them being identical twins. In between running from the bad guys, the author creates these great scenes filled with action and gives you more imagery in your mind about what this world consists of. I really enjoyed those scenes.

If you love science-fiction, then you will definitely be able to enjoy this book. Every sci-fi aspect that I could think of came in rapid succession in my mind while reading this, which is a good thing. I love to paint a picture of what I’m reading and the author clearly delivered with this book. The ending wasn’t so much a cliff hanger as it is setting you up for the next installment. I will definitely be checking it out. I would like to see these characters develop more and not have the whole twin thing going on, which I know you can’t escape from, but it would be great to see them as individuals. I’d recommend this book.

3 STARS  images (9)

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

