Review: Blood Red Road by Moira Young

12400425Series: Dust Lands Trilogy #1

Release Date: June 7th 2011

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Genre: YA Dystopia/ Post-Apocalyptic 

Format: ebook

Source: Free Read on PulseIt

Rating: 3 Stars

Saba lives in Silverlake, a wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms where her family scavenge from landfills left by the long-gone Wrecker civilization. After four cloaked horsemen kidnap her beloved twin brother Lugh, she teams up with daredevil Jack and the Free Hawks, a girl gang of Revolutionaries. 

Saba learns that she is a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Saba and her new friends stage a showdown that change the course of her civilization.

 goodreads-badge-add-plus30

 

 

 my-review

 This was a hard read for me, I’m not gonna lie. The voice of Saba really tore me up. I’m a Southern girl, so I’m used to the drawl that the typical Southerner has. This was that drawl, tenfold! I had to keep rereading words and phrases just to get some understanding. Not good. I can give the author her props for getting such a strong reaction out of me, that’s for darn sure. 

Set in the distant future where technology is far and few between, this world is set back in time it seems. It was more like a Western read in the beginning, to be honest. Saba, the heroine of this story, is pretty much hidden from the world along with her brother, father, and sister. They live by a drying lake, looting anything useful to get by. Lugh, Saba’s brother, is her whole world. His opinions and decisions hold a lot of weight with Saba. She somewhat despises her little sister, Emmi. For if she had not been conceived, their mother would still be alive, is how Saba sees it. Their father is pretty much useless and Lugh is pretty much fed up with his constant ramblings about things that makes no sense to them. When Lugh is kidnapped, and their father is killed, Saba sets out with Emmi to get their brother back. Along the way, she comes to life changing realizations and becomes a stronger and more determined person. She meets Jack on her journey-turned-adventure and the two have quite the chemistry.

On one hand, I can understand the writing style for this book. Saba is an uneducated girl, and with this being narrated by her, you get what her voice is like. This is how she sees and knows things. Aside from my obvious aversion to the dialect, this is a pretty good book. I’m hesitant to read the next one just yet, as I was told that it gets even better. I can say that I would recommend this book to lovers of dystopia. It’s a totally new world with great characters to look forward to.

3 STARS images (9)

 

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

