Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

8755785Release Date: May 27th, 2014

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Series: The Mortal Instruments #6

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

Rating: 5 Stars

68465-amazonbuybuttondf05a-bnthe-book-depository-buttondownload

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

goodreads-badge-add-plus30

images (5)

Great ending for the series!! If you are a fan of The Mortal Instruments, then I suggest you finish the series. There were moments when I was trying to decide if I think that certain scenes ended appropriately. Yes, this book is full of surprise twists, but it didn’t take away from the world that Cassandra has created and it also added in a little of what’s to come in her next series, The Dark Artifices. We saw small intros in previous books but this one was much more character driven.

Emma and Julian are more centered in this book than the original characters. They don’t overshadow Clary and crew, but it is nice to get them in the picture. I think Cassandra does an excellent job at making her readers want MORE of her books. What better way to kick off a new series than putting it in old series? Genius move!!! Yes, I will be picking up that first book….. It did seem to be all tied up with a bow in the end. But, I really wanted to see a happy ending for these characters, so I’m not complaining about that. The character deaths were on point also. You can’t have it all so happy-go-lucky with everything, something has to give. I laughed and cried while reading this book. THE FEELS!!! 

Simon and Izzy aren’t my favorite couple, simply because he is clearly not over Clary. How can he just get over his childhood-girl-friend. He was in love with her and I’m kinda glad that it went unrequited because, clearly, Clary never saw him as more than a brother and Jace is her true love. I’ve rallied for those two since book one. Jocelyn and Luke have a great ending. (no surprise there) I love Luke!! God, he is so freaking great when it comes to loyalty to those he loves. Since book one that man has been in Joce and Clary’s lives, and he has been a great father figure as well. The man will kill you over those two!!! 

No spoilers on the Magnus/Alec front! I think this was the best milestone in the whole series. I definitely had a lot of feels from these two, lets just say that right now. To be who he is meant to be, without fear of rejection from the ones who love him most is why I like Alec so much. No one should ever be afraid to fall in love and worry about who thinks it’s right or wrong. JUST FEEL and live your life to the fullest, is what I say. God, they were just….. and then…..

Cassandra Clare did me proud with this one. I’m so glad to have started this series years ago, and fallen in love with these characters. The Dark Artifices will surely be a hit. I’m just gonna put that on out there. Clare has a way with world building and characterization of beings that it’s borderline creepy. How she comes up with these things is beyond me and I will not question it any further. I will just read, thank you very much. Great ending to a series that I love wholeheartedly!

5 STARS download (3)

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

