Review: Four (A Divergent Story Collection) by Veronica Roth


18126198Release Date: 
July 8th 2014

Publisher: Harper Collins

Series: Divergent 0.1-0.4

Genre: Young Adult Dystopia/Science Fiction

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

Rating: 5 stars

68465-amazonbuybuttondf05a-bn

 

Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer to Dauntless is a chance to begin again. Here, he will not be called the name his parents gave him. Here, he will not let fear turn him into a cowering child.

Newly christened “Four,” he discovers during initiation that he will succeed in Dauntless. Initiation is only the beginning, though; Four must claim his place in the Dauntless hierarchy. His decisions will affect future initiates as well as uncover secrets that could threaten his own future—and the future of the entire faction system.

Two years later, Four is poised to take action, but the course is still unclear. The first new initiate who jumps into the net might change all that. With her, the way to righting their world might become clear. With her, it might become possible to be Tobias once again.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth comes a companion volume to the worldwide bestselling divergent series, told from the per-spective of the immensely popular character Tobias. The four pieces included here—The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son, and The Traitor—plus three additional exclusive scenes, give readers an electrifying glimpse into the history and heart of Tobias, and set the stage for the epic saga of the Divergent trilogy.

 goodreads-badge-add-plus30

images (6)

Where to start? Okay, if you know of my obsession with the Divergent Trilogy, then you know that I couldn’t resist this book. I remember reading Divergent when it first released years ago while I was on a road trip to Texas and Arkansas. I could not put the book down to save my life, not even to take over driving for my husband. I love Four and Tris as a couple and as individuals. We all got to know Tris while reading the other books, and a little bit of Four’s voice in Allegiant. It was so nice getting back into his head again and learning more of his character. It was worth the wait, and so much better than Free Four.

From his initiation into Dauntless, to his view on Tris, I couldn’t get enough of him. He is a strong and admirable character, and you can’t help but love him. My heart broke for him on certain memories, which we already kind of knew from his fear landscape in Divergent. I hate Marcus with a passion. No parent should ever have their child fear them, let alone a father with a son. Sons are supposed to idolize their fathers, Marcus made his son fear him. God, that really tore at my heart strings.

I kind of respect his mother a little now since I’ve read The Son. Just a little, because I still think that a mother’s love for her child will make her go ape sh** on anyone who tried to harm them. Now I get why she entered the picture in Insurgent, and I can be a little nice about the whole situation. This part of the book was probably my favorite, along with The Traitor. To read more of Four’s POV from Divergent was so worth it. I think this is the part that die hard fans will like the most. He has some nice thoughts about Tris and when you read the scenes that were from Tris’s POV in Divergent, it’s like a new story. Seriously!!

If you are a fan of the Trilogy, then this is a great addition to add to your shelf. I quite enjoyed getting back inside Four’s head, and while some parts are what we already knew, there are equal parts that are new. So grab the book if you haven’t already. A great read!!

5 STARS download (3)

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

