Review: Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson

15728764Release Date: April 14th 2014

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: YA Paranormal

Format: Digital

Source: Free Read on PulseIt

Rating: 3 Stars

goodreads-badge-add-plus30

A year ago Hurricane Josephine swept through Savannah, Georgia, leaving behind nothing but death and destruction — and taking the life of Dovey’s best friend, Carly. Since that night, Dovey has been in a medicated haze, numb to everything around her.

But recently she’s started to believe she’s seeing things that can’t be real … including Carly at their favorite cafe. Determined to learn the truth, Dovey stops taking her pills. And the world that opens up to her is unlike anything she could have imagined.

As Dovey slips deeper into the shadowy corners of Savannah — where the dark and horrifying secrets lurk — she learns that the storm that destroyed her city and stole her friend was much more than a force of nature. And now the sinister beings truly responsible are out to finish what they started.

Dovey’s running out of time and torn between two paths. Will she trust her childhood friend Baker, who can’t see the threatening darkness but promises to never give up on Dovey and Carly? Or will she plot with the sexy stranger, Isaac, who offers all the answers — for a price? Soon Dovey realizes that the danger closing in has little to do with Carly … and everything to do with Dovey herself.

purchase (1)

amazon_iconthe-book-depository-button (1)KoboIcon

images (6)

Rating this book was kind of hard for me. On one hand, I liked it. It has mystery and the characters are well developed, which is good. On the other hand, I found it hard to keep reading because of the Dovey and her moods(?). Okay, the eerie vibe that I got from the very beginning stayed true throughout the book. I wanted to know what was going on with dovey and the dead people she was seeing. Why were things starting to happen more rapidly once she decided to quit her psych meds, cold turkey? She was still taking them when she saw her dead best friend Carly, and I was driven to figure out the mystery of this book.

Dovey went crazy (so they say) after losing her best friend during a hurricane. She freaked out at Carly’s funeral and was committed. She loses time while on the meds that are prescribed, so she decides to stop taking them. After seeing Carly at one of their favorite spots, after she was supposed to be dead, Dovey sets out to figure out what happened to her friend and hope that she is not as crazy as the people in her small Savannah town thinks she is.

I can get a lot from secondary characters in any book, of any genre. I loved the way the author makes these characters come to life in this book. The whole setting just added to the vibe of the story, and I could picture it better in my head with the descriptions. My problem was the last bit of the book. I didn’t really comprehend what really was going on with this world. Maybe I read to fast and didn’t pick up enough. And then, there’s the little love triangle. God, I really hate those! Especially in YA books, and it really needs to find some sort of exit out of the genre. I did love the characters, Issac and Baker, themselves. Baker has known Dovey their whole lives and he just wants to be there for his best friend. Of course, Issac is the dark horse of the two and is known to be kind of a bad boy. While this didn’t take away from the plot of the book, I still hated it all the same. I think Dovey could have gone without boys in this story, that’s just my opinion.

Would I recommend this? Yes, if you like mysterious, psychological reads. I can’t see myself reading this again. Not even to see if I can get a better understanding.

images (9)

2 thoughts on “Review: Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

