Review: Murder at the Mikado by Julianna Deering

22267202Release Date: July 1st 2014

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

Series: Drew Farthering Mystery #3

Genre: Historical Mystery

Format: Paperback

Source: Publisher for review 

amazon_iconbarnes-and-noble-logothe-book-depository-button (1)

goodreads-badge-add-plus30

Just as Drew Farthering thinks his life has found smooth waters, Fleur Landis, an old flame, reappears in his life. She’s married now, no longer an actress, and he expects she’ll soon disappear–until she comes to him in dire need. The lead actor in her old troupe’s production of The Mikado has been murdered, and Fleur is the police’s number one suspect.

Drew would love nothing more than to just focus on his fiance, Madeline, and their upcoming wedding, but he can’t leave Fleur in the lurch–even if she did break his heart once. As Drew, Nick, and Madeline dive into the murder, they discover more going on behind the scenes of the theater troupe than could ever have been imagined. Nearly everyone had a motive, and alibis are few and far between. It’s Drew’s most complicated case yet.

 

my-review

 This is my first Drew Farthering Mystery, and while I haven’t read the others, I was not oblivious to what was going on. These books can be read as stand-alones, simply because each book has it’s own mystery to solve. I was, however, not up to par with the romance aspect and wanted to know how Drew and Madeline started out. That being said, I can’t stress about the romance being good/not good, when I haven’t read the first two books in this series. Totally my fault.

This is a good series to read if you enjoy mystery novels. I love the historical aspects, as it is set in 1930’s England. It was like playing a game of “whodunit”. I love Drew as a character. He is a wealthy man, but he isn’t the snobby type. He genuinely cares for others and their well being. This story is so complex and it’s characters are construed nicely throughout. With the theater, actors, dead bodies, motives, and all around setting, it was like watching an old black and white film.

I now have to go back and read the first two books because I think this is a mystery series that I could easily get lost in on a rainy day. If you are looking for an Agatha Christie type mystery, then this is definitely a start. It gives the reader great visuals while reading, if you are the type to get lost in a story. Very well written also.

four-star-review

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

