Review: This Is How It Ends by Jen Nadol

20759561Release Date: October 7th, 2014

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: YA Mystery/Paranormal

Format: ebook

Source: Free Read on PulseIt

Rating: 3 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

If you could see the future, would you want to? After the disturbing visions Riley and his friends see turn out to be more than hallucinations, fate takes a dangerous twist in this dark and suspenseful page-turner.

Riley and his friends are gearing up for their senior year by spending one last night hanging out in the woods, drinking a few beers, and playing Truth or Dare. But what starts out as a good time turns sinister when they find a mysterious pair of binoculars. Those who dare to look through them see strange visions, which they brush off as hallucinations. Why else would Riley see himself in bed with his best friend’s girlfriend—a girl he’s had a secret crush on for years?

In the weeks that follow, the visions begin to come true…including a gruesome murder. One of Riley’s closest friends is now the prime suspect. But who is the murderer? Have Riley and his friends really seen the future through those mysterious binoculars? And what if they are powerless to change the course of events?

 

temp

Some books are just not for me. I did kinda like this book, but there are some aspects that keep me from loving it. The little love triangle was the most taxing, in my opinion. I can’t stress enough how tired I am of reading them in YA books. Also, I thought that this would be some big para/mystery story, but I don’t think that the synopsis sums this book up quite right. That being said, I was thrown off a lot of the time while reading this. It dragged a little, which put a damper on what could possibly have turned out to be a great book.

Teen friends hanging out in a cave and finds binoculars that show each of them visions of themselves. Great concept right? Moving on…… Now please tell me why they all think that it was just a hallucination or something when they all saw different visions to begin with? When Natalie’s vision comes to fruition, they all get to cooking on the hows, whys, and whats. I have to say that my first impression of them all was offhand. They are a group of smart kids and their chemistry worked well throughout trying to figure what was going on. From my reading point, the author tried to make this out to not be a love triangle. I call it how I see it, it is in fact love triangle-y.

I don’t know, this could be a great book if it was executed differently. It doesn’t feel paranormal, but more of a psychological mystery. I’m not sure on the recommendation front. If you like stories that drag out scenarios but the mystery is good, then I say go for it. I don’t think that I will be reading this one again.

img-thingimg-thingimg-thing

4 thoughts on “Review: This Is How It Ends by Jen Nadol

    • I think the genre it’s categorized under needs to be removed. I didn’t get a paranormal feel, even though they saw visions from the binoculars. It was okay otherwise.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

