Review: Finding Keepers by Kristi Strong

22474371Release Date: July 30th 2014

Publisher: Self Published

Genre: YA Contemporary

Format: ebook

Source: Complimentary copy from the author for blog tour

My Rating: 4 Umbrellas

Purchase: Amazon | B&N

add-to-goodreads-black2

Starting a new life is never easy, but Alyssa Doe has turned it into an art form. Abandoned by her parents at age ten, six years in foster care has taught Alyssa how to get through life the hard way.

Now sixteen and growing desperate for a stable life, Alyssa finds herself puzzled by her newest keeper, twenty-five year old Jessica Sona. A feisty woman who won’t accept no for an answer, Jessica’s insistence on safety, family, and unconditional love begin to break down Alyssa’s walls and bring her hope, a dangerous emotion.

Can such a thing as family and love exist for a girl whose birth name is Doe, or will Alyssa be forever left finding keepers?

temp

 Alyssa Doe is a survivor. She has been bounced around through the foster system for years after her parents abandoned her when she was only ten years old. She has placed walls around herself to protect her from all the things that a girl such as herself needs; love, a safe place, and family. When she is placed in the care of Jessica, slowly, those walls begin to crumble.

I have to say, I really liked this book. I loved Alyssa’s character and the emotions that seemed to jump from the pages as I was reading. Me, having never been in her “stability” situation, I couldn’t identify with that particular plot. I could, however, empathize with other things that she dealt with that stemmed from her abandonment. Trusting the male species, for instance, is one trait that she has from something that happened at a past foster home. I can relate to that on so many levels. That tore at my heart strings, along with a lot of other issues that she overcame.

I won’t spoil Jessica’s character, a twenty-five year old foster parent (Keeper), but the little plot twist added some mystery to this already winding story. I like Brianna and Caleb’s characters. I think they were all good for each other, having problems of their own to deal with. Normal teenage issues throughout that I’m sure everyone can relate to. If you like YA Contemporary books, then you will enjoy reading this. I would also suggest having a tissue handy, just in case.

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

You may also check out my interview with the author that I did back in August on the blog tour HERE

2 thoughts on “Review: Finding Keepers by Kristi Strong

  1. I love the cover of this novel! I am also someone who really loves books that are focused on the characters and an internal struggle – I don’t know why, but I have always been drawn to them. Which makes it seem like this will be the perfect book for me!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

