ARC Review: Lacy Eye by Jessica Treadway

22373913Release Date: March 10th 2014

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Genre: Psychological Drama/Thriller/Suspense

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via Netgalley

My Rating: 5 Umbrellas

add-to-goodreads-black2

Hanna Schutt never suspected that her younger daughter’s happiness would lead to her husband’s death and the destruction of their family. When Dawn brings her new boyfriend home from college for a visit, her parents and sister try to hide their doubts because they’re glad that Dawn – always an awkward child – appears to have grown into a confident, mature young woman in her relationship with Rud. But when Hanna and her husband, Joe, are beaten savagely in their bed, Rud becomes the chief suspect and stands trial for Joe’s murder.

Claiming her boyfriend’s innocence, Dawn estranges herself from her mother, who survived the attack with serious injuries and impaired memory. When Rud wins an appeal and Dawn returns to the family home saying she wants to support her mother, Hanna decides to try to remember details of that traumatic night so she can testify to keep her husband’s murderer in jail, never guessing that the process might cause her to question everything she thought she knew about her daughter.

temp (8)

This is one of those books that keep you up reading late into the night. It makes you think about who you can and can’t trust. Do we really know our loved ones like we think we do? I kept thinking about this book long after I read it. That makes for a good book, in my opinion.

Hanna and Joe are your typical parents of two daughters. When their youngest, Dawn, brings home her new boyfriend, they must put their doubtful feelings aside and just be happy that their daughter seems to be maturing. Hanna and Joe are brutally attacked, but only Hanna survives the ordeal. Rud, Dawn’s boyfriend, is the number one suspect and is arrested.

To say anything more would give away too much. I’m not one for spoilers, but this story gets more complicated with each turn of the page. I never guessed the ending to be quite like that, though, I had my suspicions. With every detail that Hanna remembered of that awful night, I kept reading until I had to just go to bed. This is not your run of the mill family drama. I liked the characters, even the not-so-good ones. They gave the story life and feelings that I can’t describe. I got chills just reading about the attack and with Hanna remembering little details. If you are looking to get lost in a suspenseful book, then I suggest this one. You will not be disappointed in the slightest. Definitely recommend!!!

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Lacy Eye by Jessica Treadway

  1. Ooh, those late night reads are the best. I have recently read and loved a psychological thriller book and it had my heart racing and tears in the corner of my eyes. Looking forward to trying another of this genre!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

