Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

18490681Release Date: July 8th 2014

Publisher: Henry Holt

Series: The Remnant Chronicles #1

Genres: YA Fantasy/ Historical Fiction/ Romance/ Adventure

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 5 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

temp (1)A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

temp (8)

 After I read an excerpt from this book back in July, I knew that I needed this in my life. I was gonna get the Kindle book, but decided on the hardcover because I had a gut feeling that I would like this to proudly be on my bookshelf. I’m so glad that I read this book, and I need the next book right now. As busy as I have been for the past few months, I refused to put this book down at times when I knew that I should. I was hooked from the very first page.

The way that this book is set up, is quite brilliant. I am not a big fan of multiple POVs. I think that I only complain about that when I honestly get nothing from the character who is speaking. This book, however, is the exact opposite. You always want more, you can’t help but want to dive in and be apart of this world, and more importantly, you don’t know which male character to be attracted to the most- the Assassin or the Prince.

Princess Lia is pretty much bad a**. I love her character and the way she stands up for herself. She takes her life into her own hands on her wedding day. Seriously, she was like,”screw this betrothal and all of you who arranged it”. Well, not in those words but that is the way she rides off like a boss. Such a strong and admirable character, and I really like her.

Both the Prince and Assassin set out on a mission to find Princess Lia. The Prince wants to vilify her and to see just what was behind her disappearing act on their wedding day. The Assassin has a duty to fulfill- kill her and be done with it. But when both men see her for the truly incredible and brave young woman that she is, all thoughts of reprimand and murder go out the window. And while they both are smitten by Princess Lia, only one captures her heart more. Things start piecing together and it takes off. By the end of the book, I really considered emailing the author and demand book 2. This book is so much better than what I expected. Yes, I love historical fiction. The author weaves the history, adventure, and magic into something unbelievable. The world building is great and the action is put into place at the right times. I really love this book and highly recommend it.

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

2 thoughts on “Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

    • It’s really good. I had a hard time putting it down. I think this is my favorite YA Fantasy book read so far this year. The Winner’s Curse and City of Stairs come pretty close.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

