ARC Review: The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

22546489Release Date: December 30th 2014

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Series: Don Tillman #2

Genres: Adult Contemporary Fiction/ Humor

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

My Rating: 5 Umbrellas

 

temp (1)Don Tillman and Rosie Jarman are back. The Wife Project is complete, and Don and Rosie are happily married and living in New York. But they’re about to face a new challenge because; surprise! Rosie is pregnant.

Don sets about learning the protocols of becoming a father, but his unusual research style gets him into trouble with the law. Fortunately his best friend Gene is on hand to offer advice: he’s left Claudia and moved in with Don and Rosie.

As Don tries to schedule time for pregnancy research, getting Gene and Claudia to reconcile, servicing the industrial refrigeration unit that occupies half his apartment, helping Dave the Baseball Fan save his business, and staying on the right side of Lydia the social worker, he almost misses the biggest problem of all: he might lose Rosie when she needs him the most.

Graeme Simsion first introduced these unforgettable characters in The Rosie Project, which NPR called, “sparkling entertainment along the lines of Where’d You Go Bernadette and When Harry Met Sally.” The San Francisco Chronicle said, “sometimes you just need a smart love story that will make anyone, man or woman, laugh out loud.” If you were swept away by the book that’s captivated a million readers worldwide, you will love The Rosie Effect.

 

temp

So, to start, I will say that I still love The Rosie Project more than I do this book. However, that doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy this; just not as much. I love being inside Don’s head. I laughed so much that I literally had a migraine afterwards. I just can’t explain why Don’s excessive breakdowns make me really just…. GAH! I can’t even put it into words. And if you have read either of these books; is it me or do you also seem smarter after reading them?

We are back with our favorite couple, Don and Rosie. They are now married and living in New York. Without giving too much away about Don and his obsessive research habits, I will try to put this lightly. Don is the dumbest genius ever! He literally can not get past his way of viewing things and it causes all kinds of problems. He has to learn how to go with the flow of traffic and not find a suitable solution to beat rush hour. Sometimes you just have to suck it up and go. Now, I understand he can’t help the way his mind works. He is brilliant and driving; a deadly combination when you are dealing with average thinking people. But, God, I do love him!

With Rosie announcing the news of her pregnancy, Don is having a hard time adjusting to the situation. This is not the way it was planned, and he must find a way to cope with the sudden news. While he is also dealing with his best friend Gene and his situation with Claudia, he is creating stress in his own marriage. That is not good for Rosie and baby! Trouble with the law ensues and it just gets crazier from there.

I just can’t find the right words. I can’t imagine being in the same room with Professor Tillman. He is too intense for me. But this book is equally parts hilarious and touching. If you loved the first book, then this is a must read. If you haven’t even started the series, I highly recommend doing so. You will not stop laughing at these characters, no matter how hard you try.

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

