Review: Bloodmark by Aurora Whittet

18239142Release Date: November 1st, 2013

Series: Bloodmark Saga #1

Genres: YA Paranormal/ Romance

Publisher: Wise Ink Creative Publishing

Format: Kindle

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 4 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | B & N | Amazon

 

 

temp (23)Sixteen-year-old werewolf princess Ashling Boru is different from other wolves—she was able to shift to wolf form at birth. Rather than bringing pride to her family, it brings fear, and as a result, she is forced to live in seclusion in Ireland’s countryside. Ashling’s reputation is further blackened when she refuses her betrothed and defies the ancient laws. When her pack’s oldest rivals begin hunting her, she finds herself in the small town of York Harbor, Maine—far from everything she’s ever known.

In Maine, she crosses paths with the dark and rebellious Grey Donavan, and something ignites within her soul. There’s just one problem: Grey is human. Their instant connection turns into a passionate romance, and Ashling begins to believe she can create her own life outside of wolf laws. When she begins to uncover long-buried pack secrets—secrets that threaten to destroy all she holds dear—Ashling’s courage and tenacity are tested. Will she choose her deep and enduring love for Grey, or will she follow Old Mother’s path to her destiny?

 

temp (24)

Actual Rating: 3.5, but for the purpose of this blog post, 4 stars will suffice.

I had put off reading any wolf-related stories, since the last few that I read were not good. After being given the second book to review, I decided to purchase this one so that I wouldn’t be oblivious about the characters and their world. I did like this book. However, the beginning was a bit too slow for me. After much pondering, I kept reading. It got better towards the end, which it shouldn’t have taken me that long to get into it.

Ashling Boru, the unique Werewolf Princess who has been able to shift since the day she was born. It causes panic and fear, which leads to Ashling being forced to live in seclusion. Getting to reunite with her family has her all excited, until her father arranges for her to be married to Brychan. She refuses and runs, but doesn’t get far because she is being hunted by her pack’s enemies. She finds herself in Maine, on the run from everything she’s ever known. There she meets and falls in love with a human, Grey. She is determined to live her life as she pleases and make one for herself there.

Now, this seems like your average wolf/mate story. Why wouldn’t it? But, that’s just not the case. I love a good back story to trump the insta-love that was prominent from the moment Ash met Grey. I know, I know; wolves mate and all that. This was just too perfect for me. But, I accepted it and moved on. The action and plot twists didn’t happen until the ending. Which is why I immediately jumped into the next book. It was so rightfully done, that I was asking myself, “why didn’t the author give us this throughout the whole book?”. It was intense and the character death that I so wanted to happen, happened!! Does that make me cruel, to wish a character dead? *shrugs* It is what it is.

Some of the characters could have been left out of this book. I think they brought nothing forth in the story development. I did like Whittet’s take on the werewolf laws and whatnot. Overall, I like the book. As I’m still reading book 2, I will have to see if I will continue with this saga.

red-umbrella-hi red-umbrella-hi red-umbrella-hi red-umbrella-hi

3 thoughts on “Review: Bloodmark by Aurora Whittet

    • It’s interesting, I just hate that everything worthy of reading about was at the end. I can say that I like book two but I’m not sure I’ll be eager to read the remaining books when they’re released. I will, but not immediately.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

