Review: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

9565548Release Date: April 3rd 2012

Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers

Series: His Fair Assassin #1

Genres: YA Fantasy/ Historical Fiction/ Paranormal

Format: Kindle

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 5 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

 

temp (23)Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

temp (24)I’m so mad at myself for not reading this sooner. Though, real life waits for no one, I know my books will. This is yet another YA historical/ fantasy that I have loved within the last month or so. I am eager to get my hands on the next book. I may or may not have left my Amazon wishlist page open on the laptop so my hubs could just give me his card and I can shop til I drop. We shall see.

After reading this I immediately saw what all the hype is about. To be inside of the author’s head would be an amazing experience, because I could never write something so inexplicably beautiful. For such dark imagery, I really loved this book!! There was never a moment where I was bored while reading, and I was mad that I had to put it down to sleep and work. I’ll cut to the chase; buy this book, read this book, embrace this book. I have some catching up to do, and catch up I shall.

Ismae is the daughter of the God of Death. We are introduced to her as she is being forced to marry a vile man of no consequence. Ahead of this arranged marriage is her step-father, whom she has endured years of abuse from. Her, now, husband is only seeking one thing on this wedding night, and he is oblivious of Ismae’s damnation. Before the disgusting man can to more damage to her, she is rescued and sent to the convent of St. Mortain. There she learns more about herself and is asked to become an assassin, and serve as a handmaiden to Death. She is equally happy to not have to be at the hands of any abusive man, ever again. She embraces her new abilities and is sent on her first mission. After completing that mission, she is tasked a second one that takes her to Brittany. There, she must protect the Duchess of Brittany, but soon finds herself at a head with Gavriel Duval.

I won’t spoil this for those of you who have not read it, but holy hell. This story is amazingly thought out. The world building and characterization are not overly done, which is crucial in any book. I just know that Dark Triumph is just as amazing, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. If you haven’t started this series yet, then I highly recommend doing so.

 

red-umbrella-hired-umbrella-hired-umbrella-hired-umbrella-hired-umbrella-hi

 

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

  1. I really need to read this book. Everybody seems to love it! I love books that just won’t let you put them down and you stay up late reading them because you just have to! Can’t wait to read this book…whenever that may happen!

    Like

  2. So glad you felt the same way about this one. It just blew my mind. And the second book is even better, if that’s even possible.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

