Review: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

23352730First Published: April 8th 2014

Re-Release Date: January 1st 2015

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books

Genres: YA Science Fiction/ Time Travel

Format: Digital

Source: Publisher via NetGalley

My Rating: 3 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depo | Kobo

temp (25)An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.

This is the story of seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins.

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth.

But everything changes when Prenna falls for Ethan Jarves.

From Ann Brashares, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now is thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking—and a must-read novel of the year.

 

 temp (26)

Let me start by saying that I like this book. Not nearly as much as I would like to. I had such high hopes for this book after reading the blurb. It’s just one of those books that, after you read it, you don’t think about it anymore. It doesn’t occupy your thoughts all day while you are busy doing other things. That’s what I wanted to happen going into this book.

Prenna is from the future, where a deadly plague is wiping out millions of people. She, like others, travel back in time to present day New York. There are rules to follow, however. But when Prenna falls for Ethan, the rules seem to fly out the window. I’ll try not to spoil this review. Bare with me….

My first instinct was to stop reading this altogether. Switching from present to future (Prenna’s memories), was not that bad. It’s not all jumbled up because you can tell which is which. The time travel is what got me. There wasn’t an explanation, nothing. I want to know how it works, this is science-fiction. Also, the romance felt kind of “insta” for me, but then it didn’t. Prenna and Ethan get to know each other as best as they can, considering all the barriers that prohibit their relationship. Ethan, however, is this smart, perfect male specimen to fall for. I would have liked to read his point of view, even though I don’t really like dual POVs. There was too much to his character for Prenna’s POV alone for this book. While there were some good moments and a surprising ending, I still felt like it could have been better.

I’m not sure if this is a standalone. I think there could be more from this story, especially the science-fiction aspect. I’d recommend this book if there is a sequel. If not, then I don’t recommend for the simple fact that there’s not enough detail to be satisfied.

113919-glowing-purple-neon-icon-people-things-umbrella2113919-glowing-purple-neon-icon-people-things-umbrella2113919-glowing-purple-neon-icon-people-things-umbrella2

2 thoughts on “Review: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

  1. I know exactly what you mean. You want to think about a book long after reading. If you don’t that doesn’t bode well.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

