Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

16034235Release Date: August 2nd 2012

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Genres: YA Fantasy/Historical/Romance

Format: Paperback

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 4 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

 So….. here starts my obsession with this series. I put it on hold for 2 years, and it came up on my TBR. While it is very good, I found my mind wandering at times while reading it. I still love it though, and the heroine redeemed this book as a whole. I can’t wait to read the next book to see where the story takes off to next.

Calaena is the definition of a bad a** heroine. Not only is she a great assassin, she’s smart as well. I guess you have to be smart and equally cunning to be an assassin. With kill after kill, she blew me away. I love how the author made her a real woman, and not just some perfect character that never has real life issues. To become the King’s champion and gain her freedom, she is put to the test. Not just to prove a point; but she is not only using her skills to win, she is in full on survivor mode. For someone imprisoned a long time, she has every reason to want her freedom. But at what price? I won’t spoil this book, but I get the impression that things will only get more dangerous as the series goes on before it all comes to a halt.

The action in this book is intense. I somehow wished to be there in the front row to witness it all. That’s saying something, since I abhor violence and everything that comes with it- blood, death, torture. At the beginning of this, I found myself getting impatient with the story. It started slow but I know that most stories tend to drag, but then gives you this adrenaline-like rush of events to make the reader more susceptible to the intensity that follows.

Would I recommend? Hell yes! Even if you’re not too keen on fantasy, the action and darkness of the story will hold you captive. I really loved this book and if you haven’t started this series, please do so soon. It was worth the wait, but I wish that I would have read it sooner.

113919-glowing-purple-neon-icon-people-things-umbrella2113919-glowing-purple-neon-icon-people-things-umbrella2113919-glowing-purple-neon-icon-people-things-umbrella2113919-glowing-purple-neon-icon-people-things-umbrella2

7 thoughts on “Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

