Review: Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

9943270Release Date: April 1st 2013

Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers

Series: His Fair Assassin #2

Genres: Young Adult-Historical-Fantasy

Format: Kindle

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 5 Umbrellas

When Sybella arrived at the doorstep of St Mortain half mad with grief and despair the convent were only too happy to offer her refuge – but at a price. The sisters of this convent serve Death, and with Sybella naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, she could become one of their most dangerous weapons.

But her assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to the life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. But when Sybella discovers an unexpected ally she discovers that a daughter of Death may find something other than vengeance to live for…

 

temp (8)

It’s not entirely fair for LaFevers to have us all obsessed with this series. After reading book one, I was sucked right on in. I’ve read sequels before that don’t live up to the previous book. I didn’t think that this one could top it’s predecessor; I was wrong. While I loved Ismae’s story, I really love Sybella’s more. I’m not going to say that she’s a stronger character because they are both bad ass. What I like is the fact that Sybella’s story is more vim; less talk, more action.

Just like Ismae, Sybella is one of St. Mortain’s daughters. The convent sheltered her, healed her tortured soul, and trained her to become a death dealer. She is sent in as a spy in d’Albret’s, her father’s, house; a house that brings back horrible memories. Thinking that she will get to kill d’Albret is the only bright side to her mission. However, that is not the case when the time to take action comes. She is to save one of the knights being held prisoner in her father’s dungeon.

I absolutely love how this story unfolds. Sybella is a strong young woman; as she should be. Reading about her horrid past was painful. But, she has overcome much suffering and is now stronger than she could have ever imagined. There is more action in this book than the first, which made it very hard to put down at times when I knew I should. I don’t know about others, but I love Beast! He has a heart of gold underneath all that brawniness. It goes to show that you can’t base love off of looks. I swooned, swear to God. Just another reason why I couldn’t put it down.

I highly recommend this series. To ANYONE, ANYWHERE, ANYTIME, ANYPLACE! You will not be disappointed in the least. You can read my review for Grave Mercy HERE.

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

5 thoughts on “Review: Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

  1. I have been debating whether or not I should read this series, but it looks like you absolutely love it! Because of this I will definitely have to read this now, especially because you seem to have liked the middle of this trilogy just as much as the beginning!

    Like

  2. This is in my top 3 books of all time. It really was amazing in every way. Sybella is so logical but deadly. So happy you loved it.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

