ARC Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

20911450Release Date: February 10th 2015

Publisher: Delacorte Books For Young Readers

Series: Seeker #1

Genres: Young Adult- Fantasy-Science Fiction

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via NetGalley

My Rating: 3 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Quin Kincaid has been put through years of brutal training for what she thinks is the noble purpose of becoming a revered ‘Seeker’.

Only when it’s too late does she discover she will be using her new-found knowledge and training to become an assassin. Quin’s new role will take her around the globe, from a remote estate in Scotland to a bustling, futuristic Hong Kong where the past she thought she had escaped will finally catch up with her.

My Thoughts: I had such high hopes for this book. Unfortunately, I wasn’t wowed and I was left feeling empty. 

It started out great, don’t get me wrong. We get perspectives from multiple characters, which was a bit much at times. I think that I would have liked to have just two of the characters’ POV, John and Quin. Or maybe just one of them. I’m still not sure because this story went from great to good to bad by the time I reached 50%. Maud’s character was interesting, so maybe her thoughts were needed. I DON’T KNOW! That’s how jumbled up I feel right now. There was just too much going on, and then there was nothing.

John, Quin, and Shinobu are young apprentices, training to become a Seeker. A Seeker to them means doing good things and setting the world right. At least, that’s what they have been told their whole lives. Except, John knows the truth. He’s not from the same background as Quin and Shinobu. He made a promise to his mother before she died to get their house’s athame back and set everything right. Briac Kincaid, Quin’s father, was supposed to help him with his training and take his oath to become a Seeker. Briac is one of those men who lives with greed and a cold heart. He goes back on his word, and John is sent back to London. Allistair, Shinobu’s father, is a hard character to like. He so wanted a different life for his son but couldn’t break his oath to tell him the truth.

When John gets sent back, that sets every other aspect of this story in motion. It’s like, the camaraderie between the three apprentices vanishes into thin air. John and Quin are/were in love. What the heck happened? Shinobu, who is Quin’s cousin- not really- is also in love with her. Of course she is oblivious to this fact, which is understandable; Shinobu has always been a cousin to her. John gets desperate and everything goes haywire. I just did not see this story turning out like this when I started it.

The settings are very hard to get around. I thought for sure that I was brought back in time, only to come out in a sort of futuristic world. Not really futuristic, but more progressed than modern times? I don’t know, it didn’t feel right to me. Now, the ending left me wanting more. Why? Because, where will this take Quin and crew? What of Maud? She’s not the ‘Young Dread’ anymore by the end. And John? See, so many questions. I have to know what happens, so I will be reading book two, because this just did not do it for me. Recommend? Yes, it’s not a bad story. I just wish that things would have been different. If you like YA Fantasy type stories, then I say take a chance on this. It may be something you like, it may not. 

reviewstars3of5

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

  1. I have been thinking about reading this book, but not been entirely sure yet. It does sound like a good read, but I haven’t seen any outstanding reviews for it yet. It sounds like the POVs might get a bit overwhelming at some point, but I do like the rest of it from the sound of the idea 🙂

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

