Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

18081809Release Date: July 8th 2014

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Genres: Adult- Fiction- Contemporary- Magical Realism

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 4 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble;it has been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now.

Maybe that was always beside the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

temp (8)

*Actual rating: 3.5*

This book focuses solely on family sacrifices. How can one prioritize their careers and still keep the family happy? When you work your butt off to get to where you are in your career, and then have your family suffer from your lack of presence; something’s gotta give. And while I can get the perspectives of the couple in this book, I was kind of torn between the two. I’m not married (yet) with kids (not happening), so I can’t judge these characters for what they want. Ambition is good to have. Why not want to strive for success at your job and stability in your household? I think that giving up something you love will surely lead to bitterness and divorce in the end anyways.

Georgie has worked hard to get where she is. Her husband Neal is a stay-at-home dad to their kids. When she learns that she has to work on Christmas, plans of visiting their family comes to a halt. Or so Georgie thinks. Neal packs up the kids and leaves without her. Being a TV writer is no easy feat. She has waited a long time to get to this point in her career, and she can’t back out now. Can she? When her husband and kids leave, she wonders is this the end of their, already rocky, marriage.

When Georgie realizes that she can go back in time (not really time travel), she sees this as a sign that she has to fix her situation before it gets to the point it is in now. Now, this is where everything came to a head. Georgie has been scarce in her household for years. Neal is a very bitter man, seeing as he gave up his job to stay home and be husband/father of the year. See, whether it had been him or Georgie, the bitterness would have been the same. And I think that in Georgie’s case, much worse. I can’t get emotionally attached to these characters because I’m not in their shoes. If you could go back in time to save something that may not even be salvageable in the first place, would you? I guess in marriage you do all you can, even if you think that it’s too late.

This is not my favorite R.R. book. I love her writing style and the naturalness of her storytelling. This book is definitely worth a read, simply because of the subject matter. However, I wasn’t all that impressed. Maybe because I couldn’t connect with the characters enough; I don’t know. I’ve talked to my Sister-in-law about how she felt about this book, because she and her book club read this after it’s release. All of the members are married, so they had a whole lot to say about this book. Calling Georgie selfish and other names I’d rather not say. Because more than half of them left their jobs to stay home with the kids and be the dutiful housewife, they think that the situation should have been the other way around. This is not early 20th century! As my 13 year old cousin would say, “where they do that at?”. I don’t think that Georgie is selfish. There’s nothing wrong with a woman wanting more out of life than staying home to take care of the house. Now, if I can quit procrastinating, I can start to plan my wedding. Hopefully, there won’t be the need to give up jobs/careers to stay home and play the perfect wife. 🙂

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

8 thoughts on “Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I think it is interesting that they had different ideas about this book simply because they are in a different situation personally! I have seen a lot of young adults not really connecting to this one, so maybe it is better suited to adults. I haven’t read a Rainbow Rowell book before, but I intend to. I don’t think I will start with this one though :/

    Like

  2. I love Rainbow Rowell and I guess I could relate more to the characters because I am married. I had to give up my career choice because my husband has the “better” job, so I can understand both perspectives (I actually work though, just not in the field where I earned my BA or MA). I loved the “time travel” aspect of the book. Great review though.

    Like

  3. It is and it isn’t. LOL! I just focused on that aspect but there’s the “back in time” aspect as well. Not exactly time travel but more magical realism? It’s a good book but I couldn’t connect with the characters. Great concept though.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

