Review: Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

21943246Release Date: October 7th 2014

Publisher: Simon $ Schuster Books for Young Readers

Genres: Young-Adult/Mystery/Thriller/Romance

Format: Digital

Source: PulseIt

My Rating: 4 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon

Brit Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants;but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

Britt is forced to guide the men off the mountain, and knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

 

temp (8)

*Actual Rating 3.5*

The mystery and thrill is what kept me from DNF’ing this book. If I had to just bank on these idiotic girls, then I’d have given up. I just could not relate to Britt and Korbie at all. Who unleashed them into society? Time after time they made the dumbest decisions.

Why did I actually like the book? So aside from the insipid characters, the whole caught-in-a-blizzard-with-fugitives thing totally had me hooked. Really, the mystery of the men and the plot twists were somewhat refreshing after being subjected to Britt and Korbie’s monologue. Sickening! When you are held captive by crazy men, the last thing you need to be doing is ogling. Maybe, trying to flirt your way out of a situation could come in handy, I don’t know. The way that Britt went about EVERYTHING was so childlike.

But, like all mysteries, you didn’t know motives behind the captivity and who to trust. For a split second, I just wanted it to be over with. I actually liked Mason as a character. It was kinda like, good cop/bad cop with him and Shaun. While Shaun was being antagonistic towards the girls, Mason was the total opposite. I kind of pieced together some things; but when all was revealed, I was actually surprised.

Not a bad story to read when you want to just keep your mind occupied. I’d only recommend if you genuinely like mystery. The characters aren’t all that likable, but it’s worth a read.

6 thoughts on “Review: Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. I don’t think this book is for me simply because I am a character driven reader and I really need to like the characters in order to like a book. And this one doesn’t seem too likeable xD That aside, I do think the mystery aspects may be decent. I have seen a lot of negative reviews for this one so it was good to see something a bit different.

    Like

    • I’m not sure why the author had them as friends because they hated each other. Then they’d be all, “we’re sisters”. Ugh, it’s sickening. The situation and bad guys made the whole story.

      Like

  2. Nice review. I quite like this book. I am fairly good at zoning out characters like that. I was not a fan of Brit and Korbie’s friendship it was just too mean to be best friends. I kept going back and forth of the three guys as to which was the killer, I could not make up my mind.

    Not sure if I will read the author again based on this, but don’t think it’s bad enough to not read the author.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

