Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

17167166Release Date: August 27th 2013

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Series: Throne of Glass #2

Genres: Young Adult/Fantasy/Magic/Romance

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 5 Umbrellas

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie…and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

temp (8)

 *No Spoilers, just me going on and on about my book boyfriend*

I only have one word to say, Chaol!!!!! My heart beats to his name; Chaol-Chaol-Chaol-Chaol.  I can’t express how much better this book is compared to Throne of Glass. I’m not sure that our dear author Sarah isn’t trying to make us die from swooning. Death by swooning over Chaol? What a nice way to go!! Let’s not forget our dear Prince Dorian. You know that I hate any kind of love triangle-ish thing. But, I don’t really look at these characters like that. Maybe because I love Chaol and Dorian’s characters so much. Both are unique in their own way and it adds even more mystery to the story.

Celaena is fulfilling her duties as the King’s champion, (not really, but I won’t spoil this for those who haven’t read it). She’s still as tough as ever. She’s like, the perfect heroine to run this damn show! I love her cunningness and just all around bravery. Although, I am quite jealous of her at the moment. (I shall not go on a tangent about Chaol, and the fact that I cannot have him). Another time maybe.

Okay, so if you haven’t read this book, get to it. If you haven’t even started Throne of Glass, what the hell are you waiting on? Sorry to be so blunt, but damn. Everyone in the world should get lost in the awesomeness of this world and these characters, (just don’t touch Chaol and we won’t have a problem). It’s packed with action, magic, mystery, secrets, and romance; just to name a few. I’d even make my grandmother read this if she were still alive! 5 f***ing stars for being the best book in the series that I’ve read so far! I’ll start Heir of Fire next week, hopefully. Highly recommend!!

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

4 thoughts on “Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

