Review: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

20443207Release Date: March 3rd 2015

Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux

Series: The Winner’s Trilogy #2

Genres: Young-Adult/Historical/Fantasy/Romance

Format: Hardcover

Source: Won

My Rating: 5 Umbrellas

Book two of the dazzling Winner’s Trilogy is a fight to the death as Kestrel risks betrayal of country for love.

The engagement of Lady Kestrel to Valoria’s crown prince means one celebration after another. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement…if she could only trust him. Yet can she even trust herself? For—unknown to Arin—Kestrel is becoming a skilled practitioner of deceit: an anonymous spy passing information to Herran, and close to uncovering a shocking secret.

As Arin enlists dangerous allies in the struggle to keep his country’s freedom, he can’t fight the suspicion that Kestrel knows more than she shows. In the end, it might not be a dagger in the dark that cuts him open, but the truth. And when that happens, Kestrel and Arin learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

 

*This review may contain spoilers. Not a lot, but if you haven’t read The Winner’s Curse, you may not want to read any further. I’m just going to express my thoughts on this whole political enchantment, so read at your own risk*

Actual Rating: 4.5

My Thoughts: I had a complete meltdown by the end of this book!! There are no words to describe my feelings. With all of those feelings came happiness and frustration. Happiness because there are many parts that made me smile. Frustration because of Arin’s demeanor throughout this book! God, I love him but he pissed me off half the time because he refused to see the bigger picture. Yes, he was left in the dark but more importantly, he forgot his role in it all. But, by the end he sort of redeemed himself. I can say that I sort of erupted with that ending. Why? Why, why, why, why??????????

We all know the brave girl that is Kestrel. To continue to sacrifice herself for others, should be a noble thing to do. Some don’t see it that way, and when she really needs for Arin to get his head out of his butt, she also wants to keep him oblivious. Oh, how that must be for her. Marry the Valorian Emperor’s son to make sure that Arin is safe? Sure, why not? It seems such a plausible solution, but things have a way of working against Kestrel.

I like that more is revealed in this book about the spy that is in place, and also Arin’s own thoughts on the day of that infamous auction. Now that he’s taken his office, he’s got to deal with how they will proceed to flourish. Yes, they have their country back, but not total control. There are too many political agendas floating around this book for my liking. Yes, I know that the ending will be epic. It has to be. I won’t settle for anything less! Kestrel and Arin will prevail, I can see it, even if the author doesn’t yet. 🙂

Arin and Kestrel are on opposite sides of this political controversy but they are always thinking about each other. Kestrel is strong, smart, and so very brave. Arin is just as strong, but he knows that he doesn’t have all the pieces to the puzzle. Will they make it? I’m itching for the last book to come. I’m panicking at the moment because of how it all ended here and I just don’t know what to do with myself. I highly recommend this book!!

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

