ARC Review: Bones & All by Camille DeAngelis #BonesAndAll

21570066Release Date: March 10th 2015

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Genres: Young Adult- Horror- Coming of Age

Format: ARC

Source: Publisher

My Rating: 4 Umbrellas

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Kobo 

Maren Yearly doesn’t just break hearts, she devours them.

Since she was a baby, Maren has had what you might call “an issue” with affection. Anytime someone cares for her too much, she can’t seem to stop herself from eating them. Abandoned by her mother at the age of 16, Maren goes looking for the father she has never known, but finds more than she bargained for along the way.

Faced with love, fellow eaters, and enemies for the first time in her life, Maren realizes she isn’t just looking for her father, she is looking for herself. The real question is, will she like the girl she finds?

 

temp

*I will try to keep this review spoiler free. I can’t promise that, however.*

I cannot express how much I enjoyed this book! It is all things horror and interesting and creepy and awesome and touching and and and and!!! For all of those those, though, I was left feeling confused. I didn’t like the ending. At all. I wanted more from theses characters. Which begs the question, will there be more? I’m not sure, but I will be along for the ride.

Maren has an issue with affection. Once she latches on to a person, it is all over with. The feelings, smells, and all around being of that person will soon be devoured. Not forgotten, as she remembers them all. Cannibalism is a dire contrast to what she experiences. She’s now a sixteen-year-old, alone because her mother abandoned her. So she sets out on a journey to find her Father, who also left when she was a baby. She comes to the conclusion that her father must have passed on this condition, and is the reason that he left. She’s about to find out differently.

This is a coming-of-age story as well as horror. Maren grows as a character throughout this book. She’s a bit naive in certain instances, but I can deal with that because she’s only ever dealt with her mother her whole life. Meeting fellow ‘eaters’, and trusting them wholeheartedly, is just one of the mistakes she made. It must be hard having no knowledge, and then here are these others coming at every turn; when this whole time you thought that you were the only one. She meets some interesting people along the way, and we get their stories as well as Maren recalling all the times that she slipped. Going all the way back to the first victim, we get to see exactly how her mother uprooted them after every incident. It’s pretty obvious that her mother waited until Maren was old enough to survive on her own before she left her. First stop, grandparents house to find her mother. Only, she doesn’t give in when she gets there, and goes about her plan of finding her father. And it all goes downhill (or up, I’m not sure which) from there.

I gagged a few times while reading this. Gross doesn’t begin to describe scenes in this book. But, oh what a great book it is! Does that make me twisted for finding this scholarly horror to be so freaking awesome? Well, you will be just as twisted once you read this book. I definitely recommend to horror lovers, and just your general young adult lovers alike. It’s not all gory, and we get to journey with Maren as she realizes things about herself along the way. READ THIS BOOK! You will not be disappointed.

img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: Bones & All by Camille DeAngelis #BonesAndAll

    • I really think that this book will be a hot topic simply because It’s YA cannibalism. My only problem was that our MC is just too naive for her own good sometimes. I definitely recommend.

      Like

  1. Yes! It’s a very interesting concept, this book. It’s not what you’re thinking, but then it probably is. I was the exact same way after I read the blurb. It’s beautifully written, and I guess that makes it all the more great. You should definitely check it out. I think a lot of YA readers will love it.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

