Review: Kiss of Fire by Rebecca Ethington

*This review was first posted on June 2nd 2013, on Goodreads. This review is one, of many, ‘filler’ posts for this blog*

17280547Release Date: October 30th 2012

Publisher: Imdalind Press

Series: Imdalind #1

Genres: Young-Adult/Fantasy/Magic/Paranormal

Format: Kindle

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 3 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Kobo

Joclyn Despain has been marred by a brand on her skin. She doesn’t know why the mark appeared on her neck, but she doesn’t want anyone to see it, including her best friend Ryland, who knows everything else about her. The scar is the reason she hides herself behind baggy clothes, and won’t let the idea of kissing Ryland enter her mind, no matter how much she wants to.
The scar is the reason she is being hunted.

If only she knew that she was.

If only she had known that the cursed stone her estranged father sent for her 16th birthday would trigger a change in her. Now, she is being stalked by a tall blonde man, and is miraculously throwing her high school bully ten feet in the air.

Joclyn attempts to find some answers and the courage to follow her heart. When Ryland finds her scar; only he knows what it means, and who will kill her because of it.

My Thoughts: Kiss of Fire has a great plot and interesting characters. I must say that I did not like the main character, Jocylin, at all. She was so insecure, that it was annoying. I don’t like reading books if the main character holds no interest for me, but the supporting characters did. Ryland made me want to push on through. Ilyan and Wyn were definitely more interesting than Jocylin.

**SPOILER ALERT!!!!**

I liked the whole magical concept of this book. It’s definitely different and original to me, as I haven’t come across a similar book. I loved how the necklace that Ryland gave Jocylin, was his way of protecting her without her knowledge.

I didn’t like how Jocylin was so insecure and cowardly throughout the entire book. Even after she was told all about her mark and the magic she held inside her body. She was all for the rescue mission to save Ryland, and BOOM, she’s flung all over him instead of trying to get him to leave with her like Ilyan told her. Ovalia told her she would fail, and she did.

Ovalia wasn’t my favorite character, but let’s face it, she was confident in all she said and did. I understand that she’s centuries old compared to Jocylin so I’m not gonna give her too many Props. Even though she’s Ilyan’s sister, she acts like he’s her man and Jocylin is the other woman.

Ilyan is all kinds of great. I loved how his presence affects people, especially Jocylin. I’m not sure why he is so attached to her. The name he kept calling her, Silny, was not explained. Jocylin should have known that he lied about it’s meaning when she asked him. Even after his sister mentioned it, she never even confronted him and demand the truth.

I really hate that Jocylin’s mother was killed. It would’ve been nice to know what she thought about all of this and that her husband wasn’t crazy after all. He left them to seek answers about his daughter’s mark. I really don’t think that his letter was necessary. I think Wyn and Ilyan’s characters could’ve found a better way to enter Jocylin’s life. He was never heard from for the rest of this book. Maybe he’ll show up in book two.

Overall, I liked the book. I’m interested to see how this story plays out. Just because I was annoyed with the main character, doesn’t mean I won’t be reading the next book. I have to know if her father will show up, if they eventually rescue Ryland, will Edmund get what he deserves? ….. What does Silny mean?

If you are into YA Paranormal Romance or just a lover of magic in general, this is a good book to add. Despite my lack of likeness to Jocylin, I find the storyline pretty awesome.

SST119_HotPnk_BlkSST119_HotPnk_BlkSST119_HotPnk_Blk

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

