ARC Review: Being Emerald by Sylvia Ryan

Content Warning: Contains explicit sexual language and content, m/f, and elements of BDSM that may be objectionable to some readers.

 

23450183Release Date: March 31st, 2015

Publisher: KENSINGTON

Series: New Atlanta #3

Genres:  New -Adult/Science-Fiction/Dystopia/Erotica/BDSM/Romance

Format: Digital ARC

Source: Publisher via Netgalley

My Rating: 4 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon

Brave, beautiful, and not easily controlled—even within a dictatorship—Laila Lewis has finally attained the prestige of an Emerald designation. Now only one thing is keeping her from her life’s goal of retrieving the Declaration of Independence and other priceless artifacts from the wild unknown of the Onyx Zone: the six weeks of training necessary to ensure her survival outside the city walls. But she won’t be going it alone.

After a year as a designated Emerald, rugged, sensual ex-cop Rock Rodgers is finally prepared to leave New Atlanta for good. Six weeks of training is the only thing standing between him and his next mission: to disappear into the freedom of the Onyx Zone where the long-armed rule of the Gov can’t reach him. But when the chemistry between him and Laila reaches a boiling point, with captivity just one false move away, will he have to escape on his own—or risk everything for a woman more tempting than freedom.

*Actual Rating 3.5 Stars*

My Thoughts: I didn’t read the previous 2 books in this series, so maybe my likeness could have been love. This was a good read but there were several moments when I was completely lost. This world is new to me, right along with the characters.

The chemistry between Laila and Rock was perfect. It made all of the other unknown variables to this story perfect for me. Rock just wants out of New Atlanta, Laila wants to succeed in retrieving the most priceless artifact in the world- The Declaration of Independence. Together they must train hard to survive the mission. Try as they might, but their burning desire for each other cannot be denied.

BDSM is not everyone’s forte. I’m not familiar with it, other than the occasional read, so I’m not sure how spot on the author wrote out some of the scenes. The sex is hot, I’ll admit that. I just felt like there’s more that I’m missing with this whole dystopian world. And that’s totally my fault for not reading the other books first.

The different classes in this world- Amber, Emerald, Sapphire (I’m sure that I’m missing some)- are unique in the way that they are separated. With dystopia comes control. Someone always wants the throne and there are always rebels to that cause. I still need to read the other books in this series, but I did enjoy reading this. I’d definitely recommend, but do read the previous books so that you are not oblivious as I was while reading this.

SST119_HotPnk_BlkSST119_HotPnk_BlkSST119_HotPnk_BlkSST119_HotPnk_Blk

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Being Emerald by Sylvia Ryan

  1. It’s hard to read a book from the middle of the series. It can either be totally fine, or get you completely lost. This cover is sure getting around, lol. Seeing it a lot on other books.

    Like

    • I’m gonna read the other books one day but not right now. And yes, the cover….. I know that It’s not cheap when you’re an author but it does get annoying seeing the same cover on so many books.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

