Review: The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons

15750874Release Date: February 10th 2015

Publisher: Tor Teen

Genres: Young-Adult/ Science-Fiction/ Dystopia/ Post-Apocalyptic/ Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 3 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group of women on the run from the men who hunt them, men who want to auction off breeding rights to the highest bidder.

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning.

My Thoughts: I was so intrigued by the premise of this book! Like, almost giddy, because I just knew that I would love it and it would sit on my favorites shelf; never to be loaned to anyone. Sadly, I just can’t say that I was really impressed by the story as a whole.

A world where women are scarce and a hot commodity? Yes, I would definitely love this because I know that there will be a kick-butt heroine to put men in there place. Aya is okay as a character. I mean, we spend most of this book with her character longing to be free. I think that I’ve read too many books this year where the heroine is just so awesome that I was really hoping this one would be even better. We get to know Aya pretty well, considering she’s planning things through and it’s just a waiting game. The problem? Too much waiting and not enough problem solving.

Getting excited about escaping, only to have the plan derail before it even gets to the tracks. Over and over, it went. This reminded me of one of those stories where someone is trapped on an island and a plane flies by but you can’t forge SOS in the sand quick enough, and you’re still stranded. Eventually, you escape and the undertaking begins. I can say that the last bit of this book picked up pace. There’s more world building and characters that come along. Aya has trust issues, and rightfully so, and you can feel her panic at being sold at an auction. No woman should be sold just for her gender. Hell, sold for anything, for that matter.

Overall, I don’t think that I will read this book again. It just wasn’t that exciting for me, but maybe others would enjoy it. Not sure on the recommendation. It has a great hook, just not executed well enough, in my opinion. Just an okay read for me.

SST119_HotPnk_BlkSST119_HotPnk_BlkSST119_HotPnk_Blk

10 thoughts on “Review: The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons

  1. I have actually read this book myself and I really loved it! I thought the beginning was a bit slow paced, but after that I really liked the plot and the worldbuilding. My favourite character had to be Kiran most of all.

    Like

  2. I’m sorry this was just an “okay” read for you when you were so excited. I hope the next book you read it better. I loathe books where we have a strong character but no action, drives me up the wall. Thank you for your honest review and I think I will not be reading this one.

    Like

  3. I saw this, thought the cover is really pretty. I just felt it might be too juvenile/YA for me. I’m kinda new here and so far I can see you love YA. Do you read UF/PNR? If so I have a lot of fangirl-ish recs for you!

    1. The Others by Anne Bishop
    2. The Weird Girls by Cecy Robson

    Like

    • Ugh, I was so excited to read this book that I bumped it up on my TBR list. I really wanted to love it, but was only left with ‘meh’. I’m sure that others will love it but I’m not one for slow pacing.

      Like

  4. I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews for this book. Either people love it – or hate it. But I am so curious about it, especially seeing that you thought it was still a good read 🙂

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

