Review: Eight Minutes by Lori Reisenbichler

23199708Release Date: February 17th 2015

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

Genres: Adult/ Fiction/ Paranormal/ Realistic

Format: ebook

Source: Review Request

My Rating: 4 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

On the night that Shelly Buckner finally became a mother, she very nearly became a widow. Her husband, Eric, seriously injured in a car accident on the way to the hospital, was dead for a full eight minutes before being revived all while Shelly was in labor. Those eight minutes changed everything Shelly thought was possible.

Three years later, their son, Toby, brings home an imaginary friend. But he s no ordinary playmate John Robberson is a fighter pilot and Vietnam vet. As Toby provides unlikely details about John s life and Toby s tantrums increase Shelly becomes convinced that John was real and now wants something from Toby. But her husband has his doubts, and as Shelly becomes involved, even obsessed, with finding out the truth, their marriage begins to disintegrate. Torn between protecting her child and keeping the peace with her husband, Shelly desperately searches for a way to finally put John Robberson out of their lives.

My-Review1

This book gave me a migraine. Seriously, all of the plot twists drove me insane. I figured out one such twist before it was revealed, so that was no surprise. However, one of the main characters just made me want to scream- hence the migraine. With all that said, I loved it! Why? Because this book brought out so many emotions in me, and I sat and thought about my mom and dad; something I try not to do often because I get kind of depressed afterwards. I think I need some Xanax or something right now.

On the night that Shelly gives birth, her husband, Eric, is in a terrible car accident. Eight minutes. That’s how long he goes without a heartbeat. Dead. Three years later, their son Toby starts talking about a man named John Robberson. Is this an imaginary friend? Shelly and Eric are at odds about how to deal with this revelation. She wants to seek answers, he wants to ignore it. After talking with some friends about the situation, Shelly decides to do some research. That decision comes with a heavy price. Is exploring the idea of the paranormal worth risking her marriage?

Firstly, nothing annoyed me more than when Eric patronizes Shelly. Contradicting himself at every turn by acting out scenes with Toby about John Robberson’s past as a fighter pilot in Vietnam, and again as a fire chief. I won’t spoil this book, but I don’t see how Shelly didn’t see it!! The answer was there the whole time but she was too busy over analyzing everything. Lying to her husband about letting it go, but secretly planning and plotting behind his back, was the turning point in this story.

When it all came to a head, I was seriously freaked out. I mean, scared -to -read -on -any -further freaked out. I’m not scared of ghosts/ spirits, if they are my family members. Yes, I do believe because I’ve seen my grandmother twice. That’s not the point. The point is that once that freaky moment happened in this book, it was like watching a horror movie or something. I was sure that John Robberson’s ghost would walk into my bedroom at any moment. Forget Kay, John’s widow, getting the hell out of dodge, I’m the one who’s scared to look in the dark corner of my room. That was another pivotal moment in this story, Kay’s visit. It set everything into motion.

This is one of those books that you have to ask yourself if you are willing to read it. It’s very haunting, but quite interesting. It makes you think about what happens to one’s soul when they die. Do they go to heaven? Hell? Linger? Or in this case, hitchhike? I’m hard-pressed to find a book that I’ve read in the past year that has messed with my nerves. I can’t recall one at this time but this book will stay with me for a long time. The only reason that I didn’t rate it 5 stars is because there were moments when I just wanted something to happen, and it didn’t. Some dialogue needed to be cut down. Overall, this is a very great read. Definitely recommend to readers who love the unexplained or just adult paranormal fiction.

reviewstars4of5

4 thoughts on “Review: Eight Minutes by Lori Reisenbichler

  1. Whoa, this one sounds like an amazingly unique book, and I love the idea of it being so many plot twists that you can’t see coming! And amongst all that still being able to make you feel all those emotions… it must be wonderful!

    Like

    • It is! Once you start reading, It’s very hard to put down because you want to know what happens next, you know. I had a serious migraine afterwards though. Still, I love it.

      Like

  2. I find the ghost concept interesting but with the whole migraine thing and annoying characters, not so sure if it’s for me.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

