Review: Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

19549841Release Date: July 10th 2012

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Series: Seraphina #1

Genres: Young-Adult/ Fantasy

Format: Kindle

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 4 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon

Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty’s anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.

Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen’s Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.


My Thoughts: This is more of a 3.5-ish read for me. I liked the writing style and the world building is amazing. My lack of keen interest for this book as a whole is the absence of dragon action. I surely thought that I was in for a wild ride with this one. But, that aside, I will be reading Shadow Scale; just not right away.

Let me start with our main character, Seraphina. I love her! She’s so smart and intuitive, and I guess her lineage plays a huge part in her character. She has the best of both worlds- half human, half dragon. She is caught up in the politics that dictate her world and the sinister plan to thwart the peace that the dragons and humans have forged for years.

I also love Prince Lucian’s character. He is also very perceptive and catches a lot of things that no one seems to notice. He’s also loyal to a fault. The fact that he’s of royal blood does not make him any less concerned about the people- human and dragons alike. He and Seraphina worked well together trying to figure out the who’s and why’s. Neither of them liking what they find.

The issue I have with this book is the lack of dragons in their true form. In order to coexist with humans, they have to remain in their human form. Which, I must say is just a shame really. I understand that there are rebels within, but to suppress something so beautiful seems wrong. There’s too much of the book with the dragons in their human form! The glimpse of dragons was not enough. I do love the mythology of the dragons and the medieval setting in this story. I pictured it all perfectly in my head. I’m inclined to read the next book but I do wish for more action than there is in this book. Recommended!

reviewstars4of5

12 thoughts on “Review: Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

  1. I remember having read this one before and I liked it fairly enough. I thought the beginning was awfully slow paced and I almost put the book down but I am glad that I didn’t because in the end I loved it and things picked up a lot more, especially the romance. But yeah, there was a lack of dragon action in this one. I am looking forward to Shadow Scale myself.

    Like

  2. I’ve heard great things about these books. But I think I’d be a bit miffed to if the feature of the book, dragons, rarely made an actual appearance except in human form. But at least the characters seemed enjoyable. I love a Prince that is for the people!

    Like

  3. I keep wanting to get a copy of this book because it’s so pretty and the story sounds interesting but I’ve read in a couple of reviews that there’s a weird love triangle in it and I cannot read another book with one of those things or I’m gonna scream :((

    Like

    • I know, that’s the only thing that kept me from rating it higher. The story is so unique and the world is amazing. I just hate that the dragons weren’t more prominent. You should definitely read it though.

      Like

  4. Very nice review 🙂 I’m a little disappointed that there isn’t fire-breathing dragons. I assumed, because I haven’t really read the synopsis, that there was legit dragon scenes. All I knew was from what I saw of the cover at the bookstore, and it’s so pretty and purple. I want it still, but am glad I was warned ahead of time in regards to the human/dragon characters. A little sad, I’ll admit, but still want it!

    Thank you!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

