ARC Review: Invincible by Amy Reed

Invincible_tagline_final.inddRelease Date: April 28th 2015

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Series: Invincible #1

Genres: Young-Adult/ Contemporary/ Realistic-Fiction

Format: Digital ARC

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

My Rating: 4 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now she’d be dead. Evie is grateful for every extra day she gets, but she knows that soon this disease will kill her. Until, miraculously, she may have a second chance to live.

All Evie had wanted was her life back, but now that she has it, she feels like there’s no place for her in it—at least, not for the girl she is now. Her friends and her parents still see her as Cancer Girl, and her boyfriend’s constant, doting attention is suddenly nothing short of suffocating.

Then Evie meets Marcus. She knows that he’s trouble, but she can’t help falling for him. Being near him makes her feel truly, fully alive. It’s better than a drug. His kiss makes her feel invincible—but she may be at the beginning of the biggest free fall of her life.


*Actual rating 3.5 Stars*

My Thoughts: I liked some aspects of this book, but I couldn’t find it in me to like the main character too much. When she had her little revolution, I actually liked her for it. Except, the talking back to her parents. No ma’am, that will not do.

Meet Evie- terminal cancer patient. Given that her emotions are all over the place, I expected the guilt and self doubt to be there. She doesn’t like the fact that her family is worried about her. Then she acts as if to die would be the best thing for everyone involved. (I have been around terminal cancer patients before and I know that negative thoughts and emotions can kill you quicker. You have to be positive and fight.) Firstly, I knew then that I would have a hard time liking her as a character. Secondly, all that thinking about how “perfect” her life was before the cancer, only confirmed that I was in for a long ride with Evie.

Evie is an assume-that-no-one-knows-what-it’s-like type of girl. So, therefore her old friends just don’t understand what she’s going through. (They don’t have to feel your pain, but being there is all the support that they can give you. Stop being so reprimanding and let people in.) She makes friends with Stella and Caleb, they also have cancer. What’s that saying? Out with the old and in with the new? You see where I’m going with this?

What I liked was that the author decided to rid Evie of her illness and maybe, just maybe, give me the chance to like her. Now that the cancer is over, she may become less moody. But, she felt off kilter. Like, if she didn’t have the cancer anymore, then what was she to do. I actually liked her rebellious behavior. It gave her character grit. There are always these stories about being the perfect angel after being near death. No, you are supposed to live life to the fullest. Don’t do what people expect of you because you surely will end up hating the way your life turned out.

Now, meeting Marcus was like a blessing and a curse. You have a boyfriend already girl, must you go there? She went there, but I’m sure that was an act of protest. I think that she thinks that she doesn’t deserve Will, her boyfriend. She wants him to be with someone who knows what they want out of life, because she was so sure that she’d be dead by now? I don’t know, I’m not a shrink. That’s just the way this whole story seemed from the moment she’s cancer free.

It ended the way any book does that makes you want to know more; therefore, you will read the next book. I will be reading it because I just want to know what happens with Evie. I recommend this book, but don’t go into it expecting sunshine and rainbows. This is teenage angst at it’s finest and emotions will run high.

reviewstars4of5

6 thoughts on “ARC Review: Invincible by Amy Reed

  1. I have to say that I like the idea of her recovering from her cancer in the novel. Most cancer stories all have a major death in there and I get the impression that it is becoming a pattern in cancer books. But I like the idea of something different happening. It’s just a shame that you couldn’t love the main character.

    Like

    • I don’t hate her or anything, but she’s hard to really like. I’m rooting for her to get her shit together though. I really think she’s depressed or something.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

