Review: Mosquitoland by David Arnold

18718848Release Date: March 3rd 2015

Publisher: Viking Children’s

Genres: Young-Adult/ Contemporary/ Coming-of-Age/ Realistic-Fiction

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 5 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

“I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.”
After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.
So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.
Told in an unforgettable, kaleidoscopic voice, “Mosquitoland” is a modern American odyssey, as hilarious as it is heartbreaking.


My Thoughts: I’m so in love this book! Have you ever just sat and hugged a book after you’ve finished the last page? I know, I know- there are always books that you love, but I’m talking about books that you just love beyond reason. The books that you won’t let anyone touch. This is one of those books for me. I haven’t had a moment like this with a book since I read Eleanor & Park. I’ve loved many, but not like this.

From the very first page I was hooked.

I AM MARY Iris Malone, and I am not okay.

This book is equally parts funny and touching. I find that there has been an increase in YA literature that evolves around mental illness, social issues and the like. It’s so freaking refreshing! And the way that the author delivered this story, let’s just say that I felt compelled to keep at it because I had to know how this all played out.

Long story short- Mim Malone finds out that her mother, back in Ohio, is sick. She finds this out when she eaves drops on a parent/principle conference (In which she was supposed to have been there but bails). Firstly, she didn’t hear the rest of the conversation between the principle, her father and step-mother. She just ran out of the school and to home, packed a bag, stole over $800 dollars from her step-mom’s stash, and jumped on a Greyhound. All to save her mother.

It is during this trip that Mim meets some interesting company, and everything starts to unravel. What the heck? I was so caught up in the revelations in this book. I was seriously going bananas, because when I thought that something was one thing- turns out that it wasn’t. This book is crazy crazy crazy. I swear that you will lose your mind by the end of it. But, don’t worry, it’s the good kind of crazy.

I don’t want to spoil this book. If I even say a fraction of what happens, the book is ruined for you. The prose flows perfectly with each chapter. I can’t think of a better way to draft this story, than the way it is now. Any possible attempt to change it, would ruin the whole thing. I’m always searching for a book that will be the best book of the year for me to have had the pleasure of reading. This falls into my young-adult contemporary category. If I read one that tops this, this year, then so be it. For right now, it’s this one. I HIGHLY recommend this book!

reviewstars5of5

7 thoughts on “Review: Mosquitoland by David Arnold

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

