Review: The Boy In The Black Suit by Jason Reynolds

21490991Release Date: January 6th 2015

Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers

Genres: Young-Adult/ Contemporary/ Realistic-Fiction/ Cultural

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 5 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depo

Just when seventeen-year-old Matt thinks he can’t handle one more piece of terrible news, he meets a girl who’s dealt with a lot more—and who just might be able to clue him in on how to rise up when life keeps knocking him down—in this wry, gritty novel from the author of When I Was the Greatest.

Matt wears a black suit every day. No, not because his mom died—although she did, and it sucks. But he wears the suit for his gig at the local funeral home, which pays way better than the Cluck Bucket, and he needs the income since his dad can’t handle the bills (or anything, really) on his own. So while Dad’s snagging bottles of whiskey, Matt’s snagging fifteen bucks an hour. Not bad. But everything else? Not good. Then Matt meets Lovey. She’s got a crazy name, and she’s been through more crazy than he can imagine. Yet Lovey never cries. She’s tough. Really tough. Tough in the way Matt wishes he could be. Which is maybe why he’s drawn to her, and definitely why he can’t seem to shake her. Because there’s nothing more hopeful than finding a person who understands your loneliness—and who can maybe even help take it away.


My Thoughts: I guess that I really connected with this book because of my grief. No one knows what it’s like to lose a parent, or in my case both, until it happens to them. It’s been 2 years and I still cry when I’m alone because I don’t like to do so in front of others. Until you feel that pain, you can’t possibly say that you understand it.

Matt is a character that I truly love and respect. Despite his grief, he manages to take care of himself and his dad. He still has moments when he can’t shake the pain of his mother’s death but he deals the best way that he can. Meeting Lovey was the best thing that could happen to him. When you find that person who has been through worse hell than you have, and they seem to be doing just fine, you want to get to that point. Though, making yourself tough to hide the pain is just like walking straight through the doors of depression. It’s a process, you can’t bottle that up and keep it inside. Lovey shows Matt that it’s all smoke and mirrors when dealing with hard stuff in life. You can grieve, but just don’t let it take over your life. She was so good for him and I found their connection beautiful.

This is a wonderfully written book. I think that young adults everywhere should read this book, and just grasp the realness flowing through the pages. It shows you that, no matter what you go through in life, you can rise up and be a great person. Don’t take that dark path into nothingness when there’s more to life than you can possibly imagine. I highly recommend this book!

reviewstars5of5

7 thoughts on “Review: The Boy In The Black Suit by Jason Reynolds

  1. I’m am very sorry to hear that. I know that is painful and am so thankful I at least still have my Mother. Losing a parent is the worst pain so I can’t even imagine having lost both. I hate that that happened to you all. I hope that everything turns out all right for you and your sister. I’ll be hoping and praying that you guys get some positive news at the end of the week. You’ll be in my prayers.

    Like

  2. I saw the cover of this one on a friend’s book blog and immediately decided that I wanted to read it. So I’m really happy the know that the story is as great as the cover. I lost my Dad some years ago, and that coupled with finding out I had another serious illness made me lose myself. I think had I had something inspiring and relatable to read like this I might have at least considered trying to keep myself from spiraling down.

    Anyways, happy to know this one is worthwhile. Once the paperback drops, it will be mine!

    Like

    • I know what you mean. My parents died 3 months apart back in 2012, and I’m still not over it. Now, my sister is sick and we won’t know her diagnosis until the end of this week. This is a great book to read and the writing is amazing.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

