Review: Summer By Summer by Heather Burch

22494161Release Date: April 7th 2015

Publisher: Blink

Genres: Young-Adult/ Contemporary/ Christian/ Romance

Format: Paperback

Source: Publisher

My Rating: 4 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

When Summer took a job as a nanny for a couple vacationing in Belize, she imagined it would be a fresh start before starting college in the fall. And while she adores her charge, Josh, she can’t say the same for her employers’ oldest son, Bray. He’s cocky, inconsiderate, and makes her feel she’s a chore he has to put up with. In short, he’s everything she dislikes in a guy.

Bray had a plan for the summer: party, hang out with friends, and forget all the responsibilities waiting for him back home. But every time he’s forced to be around Summer, her dour, serious mood sets him off. Not to mention she has a habit of picking up on what he already knows is wrong with him.

Then the two find themselves on a dive trip gone wrong, stranded on a remote island. As they focus on survival, their differences melt away, and they find being together may be what both needed all along.


MY THOUGHTS: So, this book’s synopsis tells all. I was apprehensive about it in the beginning, but then I found that I couldn’t stop reading because there was the mystery going on with Summer. I wanted to know what caused her to be so closed off, and just whose grave her best friend tended to in her absence. With every page turned, I was hoping that she would give up the answer, so that I could be at peace.

I loved how Summer was determined to dislike Bray in the beginning. Okay, so he was a bit of a jerk at first glance. He was only there to try to keep his family together, and show his parents that they were happy once. Summer shouldn’t have been surprised by his partying. Hello! College dude here! Although, his mom was playing her own little game of chess with them as the pawns. I like that she took Summer on the girls day out to the spa.

So, after a diving trip goes wrong, Summer and Bray have no choice but to be in each other’s company. Can I say how much I love that the author didn’t create this naive girl that is head over hills for a boy she just met. No, she had them get to know each other by being stranded on an island, which is fine by me. And with each piece of info revealed about Summer’s past, I loved her even more as a character. Bray was there to listen and be awed by how strong a person she really is.

The only problem that I had with Summer is that she came off very bitter in the beginning at times. Especially where Bray, his parents, and his friends money is concerned. She went on these little tangents about how perfectly perfect his mom is and how everyone with money looks beautiful and can pretty much do anything they want. I wanted to scream at her and say, “let it go!!”. Yeah, Bray was a little cocky, but what cute college guy isn’t? I think that this is a good, clean book for teens to read. I think this is my favorite book by Heather Burch. I didn’t really feel her Halflings Series, so this was a nice change for her. Recommended!!

reviewstars4of5

2 thoughts on “Review: Summer By Summer by Heather Burch

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

