Waiting On Wednesday #9: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

new-wow

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine, that spotlights books we are eagerly anticipating.

The last WOW that I did was back in June 2014. I was working 14-16 hour days back then, so I just got back into doing this weekly meme. Plus, I had just started blogging and had to learn how to manage my time- that now included this. This week I’m waiting on Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee. If you don’t know, this is a companion novel to my favorite book of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird. God, I remember reading my aunt’s copy when I was only 13 years old. I have 3 copies on my shelf. 2 are dogeared and creased beyond repair, but my hardcover that I purchased about 5 years ago is in perfect condition. Every person on the planet should read To Kill a Mockingbird. Reading that book did something to me inside, and I’ve been trying to find another one that I will love just as much. I can’t count how many times that I’ve read it.


24817626Release Date: July 14th 2015

Publisher: Harper

Genre: Adult/ Historical/ Literary/ Fiction

Originally written in the mid-1950s, Go Set a Watchman was the novel Harper Lee first submitted to her publishers before To Kill a Mockingbird. Assumed to have been lost, the manuscript was discovered in late 2014.

Go Set a Watchman features many of the characters from To Kill a Mockingbird some twenty years later. Returning home to Maycomb to visit her father, Jean Louise Finch—Scout—struggles with issues both personal and political, involving Atticus, society, and the small Alabama town that shaped her.

Exploring how the characters from To Kill a Mockingbird are adjusting to the turbulent events transforming mid-1950s America, Go Set a Watchmancasts a fascinating new light on Harper Lee’s enduring classic. Moving, funny and compelling, it stands as a magnificent novel in its own right.

Why am I waiting on this? Aside from the fact that I love it’s predecessor, I just want to read anything that Harper Lee has written. I was skeptic when I first heard about this book, seeing as the media reports about what the author is going through (I’m not sure if she has dementia). Apparently, this was given to publishers back in the 50’s, but it was never published. I just want to dive back into the small Alabama town, and catch up on these memorable characters.

What book are you waiting on this week?

12 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #9: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

  1. Yes to Harper Lee! To Kill A Mockingbird will always be one of my favorite classics. I read this several times as a child and teen and I’m looking forward to checking out her new book. I’ll probably be waiting until it comes out in paperback though.

    Like

    • Yes, I’m definitely gonna read it. Though, there are a few who thought that maybe she didn’t write it, I’m sure I’ll be able to tell. I’ve read TKAM so many times that I know it by heart.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

