ARC Review: Strange Skies by Kristi Helvig

22608499 (1)Release Date: April 28th 2015

Publisher: EgmontUSA

Series: Burn Out #2

Genres: Young-Adult/ Post-Apocalyptic/ Science-Fiction

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via Netgalley

My Rating: 3 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Caelia is the new Earth. That’s what the Consulate told everyone and, against all odds, Tora finally has made it there. She can’t see the ocean from her cell in the Consulate’s containment center, and she doesn’t know what happened to the weapons her father died for and she’s risked her life to save.

But as she plans her escape, she runs into the last person she ever expected to see-her dad. The Consulate has kept held him prisoner in a complicated plot designed to lure Tora out of hiding. Now Tora has a new purpose: break free, get the guns, and save her father.

But first she’ll have to navigate a strange new planet, track down James (whose loyalties still remain questionable), and find Kale…before he finds her first.


REVIEW: After procrastinating on whether or not to read Burn Out, I finally just skimmed through it. It’s not that I didn’t want to know the details of this plot, I just never had time to just sit and read. That said, I couldn’t really get into this book and it’s totally my fault. It felt weird from the start, but I kept reading. By the end, I can say that I want to read the next book and maybe go back and really read Burn Out. There are many questions that need answering for me, and it’s only fair that I read the whole series to find them.

Tora is somewhat of a mystery to me. She comes off as this strong heroine but then she is friends with the person that shot her (I really need to read the first book because this seems so unbelievable to me). Other than that little awkwardness, she seems to be hell bent on saving her dad.

James… I can’t say that I like him all that much. Maybe because he shot Tora? She can’t seem to get enough of him. And then there’s Alec. He irritates the heck out of James. His loyalty to Tora for saving his life makes for some great scenes for bickering between him and James.

At the start of this book, it was very slow paced. Tora waking up and being held against her will, kind of took a lead all on it’s on. Her determination to not be used as a weapon and get the heck out of there is the goal. Once she’s faced with her father being in the same boat, she has to figure out a solution or die trying.

There are some aspects of Caelia that makes for some great sci-fi scenes, but there really wasn’t anything big happening until the end. That’s why I need book 3 right now!! Until then, I’ll settle for going back to the beginning, and soon. This is an interesting post-apocalyptic story line, and I recommend it to those who love the genre. I think that my rating would have been higher, had I really sat down and read the first book. Definitely worth taking a look at.

reviewstars3of5

8 thoughts on “ARC Review: Strange Skies by Kristi Helvig

  1. Ah i do get the impression this is the kind of book where you have to have read the first one first and with enough attention to it as well. A beautiful cover but what I would be most curious to see is if your opinion has changed after reading book one properly.

    Like

    • If you haven’t read the first book, I suggest doing so before reading this. That’s where I messed up at. Other than some questions concerning the characters, I think it’s a good story.

      Like

  2. I seriously get anxious reading any book where characters wake up imprisoned. I just don’t like confinement for me or my characters. Unless they deserve it you know. This one sounds like it has an interesting concept and at least the ending sounds like it went off with a bang.

    Like

    • I think I should have just read Burn Out before this. Tora is a strange character. Especially, being in love with someone who shot her. I’m not sure what the author is trying to get at with the situation.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

