Review: Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M. Lee

17904985Release Date: August 5th 2014

Publisher: Skyscape

Series: Gates of Thread and Stone #1

Genres: Young-Adult/ Fantasy/ Science-Fiction/ Magic/ Time Travel/ Dystopian

Format: Kindle

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 4 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

In the Labyrinth, we had a saying: keep silent, keep still, keep safe.

In a city of walls and secrets, where only one man is supposed to possess magic, seventeen-year-old Kai struggles to keep hidden her own secret—she can manipulate the threads of time. When Kai was eight, she was found by Reev on the riverbank, and her “brother” has taken care of her ever since. Kai doesn’t know where her ability comes from—or where she came from. All that matters is that she and Reev stay together, and maybe one day move out of the freight container they call home, away from the metal walls of the Labyrinth. Kai’s only friend is Avan, the shopkeeper’s son with the scandalous reputation that both frightens and intrigues her.

Then Reev disappears. When keeping silent and safe means losing him forever, Kai vows to do whatever it takes to find him. She will leave the only home she’s ever known and risk getting caught up in a revolution centuries in the making. But to save Reev, Kai must unravel the threads of her past and face shocking truths about her brother, her friendship with Avan, and her unique power.


REVIEW: This could have been a solid 5 star book for me, if it weren’t for the slow pacing in the beginning. I should have expected it, to some degree, but the premise promised one heck of a ride – so I strapped in. I like this book, and had it not been for the last 30%, I don’t think this would be a positive review.

Kai is one of those heroines that you love and hate at the same time. I admired her for wanting to save her brother Reev by any means necessary, but at the same time, didn’t care for her obliviousness towards Avan. This romance is not one that I am rooting for. Yet. Only because Kai didn’t really acknowledge Avan as “more than a friend” until the end. Why the author chose to do that is beyond me. Well, it is supposed to be all about saving Reev.

The last quarter or so definitely picked up pace, and gave way to a plethora of genres. Some of it didn’t make much sense to me, so I’m hoping that the world building really picks up in the next book. Otherwise, I won’t be continuing with this series; which is sad because I really think the story has potential. There are a multitude of characters throughout, and I’m wondering what is the purpose. I’d have preferred that Kai and Avan were lone rangers, out to save the world, than for all of the people along the way.

Overall, I liked this book. It is compiled of many genres that I think will appeal to a lot of readers. Recommended!

reviewstars4of5

12 thoughts on “Review: Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M. Lee

  1. Even though it started off slow, it’s a good thing that it finally picked up and was intriguing enough to keep your attention. And I suppose the author only introduced the idea of a romance between the two towards the end because she has other books in the series to write and maybe didn’t want to give everything to the reader right up front. It will be interesting to see what you think of the next book in the series.

    Like

    • Hopefully, it’ll answer some questions for me. And the world building is all over the place but It’s not a bad book. I think the author needs to tie the threads together for this story.

      Like

  2. I have this book on my TBR and I am very excited to try it out. I love the sound of the main character and the cover to this book loooks awesome as well. It’s a little bit of a downfall about the slow beginning but it seems like a minor problem.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

