Mini Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

17878931Release Date: February 10th 2015

Publisher: Harper Teen

Genres: Young-Adult/ High Fantasy/ Dystopia/ Science-Fiction/ Magic

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

My Rating: 5 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Barnes & Noble | Amazon

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?


*Actual Rating 4.5 Stars*

REVIEW: This book will bring out all the feels that you have in your body, and ones that you didn’t know existed. I love this book so much, and I can’t wait for book two! Pet Peeve: I despise love triangles! But, the rest of the plot is so freaking awesome that I DO NOT care. Moving on………

Pierce Brown + George R. R. Martin + Tahereh Mafi = Victoria Aveyard. Though, I’m not sure who the father is. That’s just my opinion; take it how you like it. Kidding! Seriously though, this book has it all and by the time you get done, you will want the next book. I’ll settle for Queen Song, come September.

Mare is just an amazing character. Her ability to pick pockets without shame just adds to her awesomeness. (I don’t condone stealing, just to be clear. LOL) I knew there was something unique about her from the start. How can you be at the bottom of the barrel in your class, when you are already there amongst society as a whole? Well, that little hobby of hers gets her in trouble. Time to pay the piper. Only, things start to unravel and there are more questions than answers. I know that the author doesn’t want to reveal everything about a character from the start, but COME ON! Give me more.

All I have to say is, READ THIS BOOK. There’s magic and mayhem, and just an amazing world that you will love. I love how fierce Mare is as a character. I hate that there may be this big mush fest with Mare and the Princes. Ugh, why did that have to happen? But, as they say; if you play the part long enough, feelings will start to come into play. I definitely recommend this book.

reviewstars5of5

9 thoughts on “Mini Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Ahaha I have to hand it to you, the way you started this review definitely had me laughing! This one has had a lot of mixed reviews because either they love it or they think that this one is a mix of a lot of other books. I would like to try it myself regardless!

    Like

    • It’s similar because of the “agenda”, I think. It goes without saying that it reminds me of the authors that I mentioned work. Still, I enjoyed it and can’t wait to read the next book. Maybe one day I will tire of this genre. LOL

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

