Review: A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

22535481Release Date: February 24th 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genres: Young-Adult/ Fantasy/ Fairy Tale/ Retelling

Format: Hardcover

Source: Trade

My Rating: 3 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

One hundred years after falling asleep, Princess Aurora wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince and a broken kingdom that has been dreaming of her return. All the books say that she should be living happily ever after. But as Aurora understands all too well, the truth is nothing like the fairy tale.

Her family is long dead. Her “true love” is a kind stranger. And her whole life has been planned out by political foes while she slept.

As Aurora struggles to make sense of her new world, she begins to fear that the curse has left its mark on her, a fiery and dangerous thing that might be as wicked as the witch who once ensnared her. With her wedding day drawing near, Aurora must make the ultimate decision on how to save her kingdom: marry the prince or run.


REVIEW: I love retellings. Let me rephrase; I love retellings that are done right. I really wouldn’t say this is a retelling, because that implies the story has a similar premise to the original – and the author added their own twists and turns to make it to their liking. Well, not entirely true, but you get my point. This story takes place “after” Sleeping Beauty wakes up.

It’s been a little over 100 years since Princess Aurora fell asleep; the curse bestowed upon her by an evil witch. After many failed attempts, Prince Rodric manages to break the spell. She wakes confused, and tries to grasp that her family is dead. There’s an order to the tale that has been told over the decades that she’s been asleep – marry the prince who breaks the spell and live happily ever after. Only, Aurora is overwhelmed with everything going on around her and all the while grieving for her family.

This story didn’t blow me away like I thought it would. There was not a moment where I got goosebumps or anything. I think it has to do with the fact that it wasn’t really about the reason she was cursed, and the subsequent action that leads up to her fall from grace; errr her fall to sleep. Maybe my expectations were too high for this one, I don’t know.

I rated this 3.5 when I finished it last week. After some pondering, I went with just 3 – As you know that constitutes a 4 over here, and I just don’t feel that strongly for it. Somewhat recommend, if you just want to read a quick fairy tale.

reviewstars3of5

6 thoughts on “Review: A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

  1. I have actually decided not to read this one because I saw one too many negative reviews for this book. But I am glad to see you were able to enjoy it reasonably well although you did have a few issues with it.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

