Review: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

22465597Published March 10th 2015 by HarperCollins

Young-Adult, Mystery, Suspense, Contemporary

Won ARC (357 pages)

My Rating 4 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.


REVIEW This is my first Oliver book since the Delirium Trilogy. I wasn’t sure how this would turn out, as I have been kind of on the fence about her writing. Time heals all wounds – as they say. So, when I won this about a month ago, I decided that there’s no time like the present to see if she can make me read her books again. I may have to grab Panic and her other books now. I enjoyed reading this book, but it dragged in places – therefore keeping me from loving it.

This book is told in alternating voices – Nick and Dara. Two sisters who have been two peas in a pod their whole life. Despite their differences, Nick and Dara share a sisterly bond that breaks in the light of a terrible car accident. Suddenly, things change drastically and Nick moves in with their father, so that she can get some space – and maybe in time Dara will come around.

This book is freakishly weird. I love the mystery and suspense of it all. Yet, I found myself wishing that some of the dialogue was cut down. It was just too much at times. And when everything was laid out in the open, I was surprised. Nick did the only thing that she could think of to get some sort of goodness out of her life.

Lauren does a great job of creating a suspenseful plot. I was so confused about a lot of things that happened, but then it made total sense in the end. I definitely recommend this book if you enjoy young-adult mystery.

reviewstars4of5

8 thoughts on “Review: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

  1. I should really get around to trying my first Lauren Oliver book as well. I have had Delirium sitting on my shelf for ages and just haven’t been able to push myself to pick it up :/ As for this one though, I will be thinking of my sister if I read it!

    Like

  2. I haven’t read anything by Lauren Oliver, but I’m so intrigued by this one because of all the glowing reviews I’ve seen. Great review, Lekeisha!

    Oh and I just came across your blog and I love it! You’ve got a new follower in me! 🙂

    Like

  3. Ooh, this one sounds really cool! Definitely adding it to the list!
    Also, is it just me, or does it seem like there aren’t too many stories about sisters? Brothers and sisters, brothers and brothers, but not too many about just sisters.

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbositybookreviews.wordpress.com

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

