Review: Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini

20613491Published September 2nd 2014 by Feiwel & Friends

The Worldwalker Trilogy #1

Young-Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Purchased Hardcover 374 Pages

My Rating 4 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying experiences that others in her hometown of Salem take for granted, which is why she is determined to enjoy her first high school party with her best friend and longtime crush, Tristan. But after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class, Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly, Lily is in a different Salem—one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruelest of them all is Lillian . . . Lily’s other self in this alternate universe.

What makes Lily weak at home is what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. In this confusing world, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can’t hope to shoulder alone and a love she never expected.


REVIEW Alternate worlds with the magic and monsters? Yes please! It was so easy to love a character in one world, only to turn around and hate them in the other.

As Lily is, somewhat, whiny at the start of this book, I still prefer her over Lillian; her alternate self in another Salem. This is what fascinated me with this book, the alternate worlds. I’m not big on them, but if the author can take the time to make them super villains of their original selves – or vice versa – I’m game. At the start, Lily is desperate to make that leap with her best friend Tristan. She’s been crushing on him forever and they finally may have something. All she wants is to go to a party on his arm, and for once, not let her allergies disrupt her life. Things turn out differently, and she is humiliated in front of her peers. “Dear God, make me a bird; so I can fly far. Far Far away from here”, is her mantra. Well, not those words but you get my point. And, wish granted! Only, she ends up in the other Salem, which is filled with creatures and magic. Most of all, Lily is not prone to sickness in this world, and she is as strong as ever. Lily soon learns that Crucibles can be cruel, and that Lillian is up to no good.

Rowan. I liked him instantly. He shows Lily how to use her magic to help the Outlanders. I loved the blossoming relationship between Lily and Rowan. But, when it all boils down, Lily has to make a choice. Stay in this alternate world where she is stronger and powerful, or return home and live with her allergies and self consciousness. She doesn’t want to face what she left back there and now she has found herself.

I really liked this story – though the ending left me wanting more. Well, only 3.5 months to go until the next book, so there’s not a long wait. I definitely recommend this book, especially if you love witches and magic.

reviewstars4of5

8 thoughts on “Review: Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini

  1. This sounds promising. I don’t mind when the end leaves me wanting more in a series, and don’t mind a cliffhanger even, as long as I feel like I was given a complete story with resolution to the main plot. Thanks for the review.

    Like

  2. This one’s been on my radar for a while now but my library doesn’t have it. I’m a fan of parallel worlds though it could get confusing knowing who to trust. It would be hard to stay in the magic world if she had family back home.

    Like

  3. I do like having some witches and magic in my stories, so maybe this is a good one for me to read! I also missed up the day this was a freebie on the kindle, which was so dumb of me DD: I need it!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

