The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

18190208Publication June 2nd 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Young-Adult, Paranormal, Historical-Fantasy

eARC provided by Netgalley

My Rating 4 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N | Book Depository


My Thoughts This book has some interesting characters and a lot of humor. It’s for sure an interesting take on witch hunters, which I have limited reading on. Elizabeth and Caleb are no Hansel and Gretel, but the story is rooted and I couldn’t put it down – no matter how much I wanted to strangle Elizabeth.

I both love and hate Elizabeth’s character. She’s such a strong girl, but some of the things that she did (or didn’t do in some scenes) irked me. At the beginning I was put out by her obvious longing for her best friend and partner in crime, Caleb. She tries to make like his kissing another girl doesn’t affect her. She also does stupid things that could get her into trouble, but at the time it was unavoidable. So, I couldn’t be too mad about that when she was just trying to do her job. The thing that killed me about her character is that she didn’t act as if her RAPE didn’t affect her. I can’t see past that nonchalant attitude with her and others, who for sure knew what happened. Her only concern? Herbs to prevent pregnancy. Really? You don’t want the whole kingdom to know just what that monster did to you?

Then, the poor girl gets charged with witchcraft and is sentenced to death. Her only form of freedom comes from Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful wizard around. He wants her to break the curse that is cast upon him and he will make sure she escapes her sentence. It is during this time that Elizabeth realizes that her whole witch hunter task is filled with nothing but lies. Then, there’s John. I quite liked him better than Caleb, to be honest. He has this air about him that makes you believe the best of him and his fellow wizards/witches. I may have swooned a few times.

Synopsis 

The magic and suspense of Graceling meet the political intrigue and unrest of Game of Thrones in this riveting fantasy debut.

Your greatest enemy isn’t what you fight, but what you fear.

Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. But when she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to burn at the stake.

Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful and dangerous wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can break the deadly curse that’s been laid upon him.

But Nicholas and his followers know nothing of Elizabeth’s witch hunting past–if they find out, the stake will be the least of her worries. And as she’s thrust into the magical world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and one all-too-handsome healer, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.

Virginia Boecker weaves a riveting tale of magic, betrayal, and sacrifice in this unforgettable fantasy debut.

Final Thoughts There are some funny moments happening in this story and I found myself laughing out loud. It made the other annoying aspects fall to the wayside. Other than that, I am very glad that I read this book, as I can see that I may just fall in love with book two; IF, things go the way that I think they need to in order to make since of the mellowness of the emotions portrayed in this story. I just can’t wrap my head around it, other than if the author plans to explore it later on. If you love magic and anything fantasy/paranormal related, I recommend this book!

reviewstars4of5

11 thoughts on “The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

  1. Thank you. That’s exactly it! I couldn’t put my finger on what bothered me about this book, but you’re right it’s the mellowness of the main character! And the king so has to pay! (Though I have a fealing he wont be around for much longer)

    Like

  2. I adore books that can make me LOL. But the MC sounds a little wishy washy. I really have a hard time with MC’s that have things about them that annoy me to no end. John sounds interesting though.

    Like

  3. I have a copy of this one so I am looking forward to diving in! Like you, when it comes to witch hunters my knowledge is fairly limited because I haven’t read many books with them. I hope I do like Elizabeth’s character or at least can tolerate it! The humor sounds appealing though ^.^

    Like

  4. So my question is, if the king didn’t get punished for his wrongdoing does that mean there’s going to be a second book? It would irk me too of the heroine just brushed things off like that. To me, she seemed to do it a bit much but the fact that she didn’t tattle on the king may had to do with her fear?him super glad you liked this book girlie! 🙂
    Lovely review as always!♡

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

