Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

20613470Released September 2nd 2014 by Bloomsbury Children’s

Young-Adult, High Fantasy, Magic, Adventure, Romance

Reviewed In Series Throne of Glass |  Crown of Midnight

Purchased Hardcover 562 Pages

My Rating 4 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble


REVIEW Once again, I am a slave to this series! This installment isn’t my favorite, so far, but I still love it. I read this back in April and I swear that I reviewed it already. My mind is not to great right now, so forgive my forgetfulness. I’m thinking of stalling on The Assassin’s Blade until the next book comes in September. I’ll see if I can hold out – they’re just novellas anyway.

Synopsis:  She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Crown of Midnight.

My rambling will not be long winded. Okay, my biggest problem with this book is the inclusion of one male specimen in the form of Rowan. It’s not so much my dislike of his character, as it is his level of threat that I feel. I’m team Chaol all day. There is no denying my feelings for that fine man. And, though there isn’t any such reason to believe Rowan to be a threat (YET), I feel as though it’s a set up of epic proportions. Why Sarah? Just why? And as exciting as these characters are, there seems to be more at stake with Celaena.

That girl is standing in a line of fire and if she comes out unscathed (or possibly a dragon. LOL! I watch too much Game of Thrones), then she is one bad woman. Okay, we know she already is! That ending though! All I can say is that I want for everything to be okay. For Celaena, Chaol, Dorian and every key MF in this game. This has to be the most stressing game of death and magic that I have ever been apart of. Yes, we are all involved now, there’s no turning back!

I just can’t stress how much I love this series. Go. Read. Now! That is all….

reviewstars4of5

23 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

  1. So glad to know you continue loving the series! It might not have been the best one, but it does seem like a pretty good inclusion to me and like you really do want to keep reading. I know how you feel about wanting to hold off – it can be hard to fight the temptation sometimes!

    Like

  2. I felt so bad for the Prince here! I was so happy that he found himself a girl he can be with as Celaena is obviously into Chaol. Then THAT happened! Waaahhh!!!

    Happy weekend!

    Like

  3. Probably my favorite of the series so far, and a great pick me up after I was disappointed with book two. My faith is definitely restored and I’m actually really looking forward to the next one. I actually don’t think Rowan will be that kind of threat, I was worried before as well, but it’s becoming more likely him and Celaena will be just mentor-student. Loved the wyvern rider too (though her name escapes me at the moment!)

    Like

  4. Soooo Lekeisha, I think I’m the only person in the history of people (does that make sense??) that has never picked this series up. And I think I’ve said that about a million times. And Game of Thrones….should I read the series orrrrr watch the series first? And did you read the series?

    Like

    • I’ve only read (well listened on audio) A Game of Thrones. I have yet to read the other books. The show has big differences from the books. For one, the ages of the characters and other little differences. It’s addictive, I won’t lie. And hot as f**k, if I’m to be honest. If you want to read the books, go for it. But you don’t have to, to enjoy the show. That’s probably why I haven’t finished reading the series. But, the Throne of Glass Series is epic. You love to fangirl? You will fall hard for these guys in the series. I’m team Chaol, and hell, Dorian too.

      Like

      • Okay so I’m going to watch Game of Thrones before attempting to “listen” to the books. (The page numbers kind of frighten me….) hehe and girl you better believe I’m going to get Throne of Glass. I want to see what everyone else has been talking about!! ♡♡♡

        Like

      • It took me about a month to listen to roughly 25 hours of audio. It was worth the money I paid for it though. I’m not sure if I’ll get the others on audio, maybe just buy a boxed set or something if I decide to finish the series. But, yes. Get Throne of Glass!

        Like

      • I’ve heard a lot of people listening to it instead of reading it. How much did the audio cost for the book you read? And.. and…a WHOLE FREAKING MONTH??? Holy.crap. that’s a lot. But I’m sure it’s better because you can have someone read it to you instead of doing it yourself. I just can’t imagine reading 1,000 pages. (That’s how many pages, right?)

        Like

      • I got it on sale for $35 and some change, but i think the reg price is around $42. It’s a long ass book though. Not sure of the page count.

        Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

