The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

10798416Published January 2nd 2012 by Poppy

Young-Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Borrowed Hardcover from my Library

My rating 5 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Four minutes changes everything. Hadley Sullivan 17 misses her flight at JFK airport, is late to her father’s second wedding in London with never-met stepmother. Hadley meets the perfect boy. Oliver is British, sits in her row. A long night on the plane passes in a blink, but the two lose track in arrival chaos. Can fate bring them together again?


*Actual rating 4.5 stars*

REVIEW I think I have found another author to add to my favorites list. I liked the first book that I read by Smith, The Geography of You and Me, but I absolutely adore this one. Her writing is phenomenal and her characters are well developed. I was so lost to this book, that it’s not even funny. Four minutes changed everything. For the characters and myself. I’m not even sure that it took four minutes to get lost, but who’s counting? The title sets you up to not get all crazy about the “insta-love” that happens between Hadley and Oliver. It’s so perfect and just a sweet romance to read.

Hadley is running late for her flight to London. Never mind the fact that she wished this would happen. Her dad is getting remarried and this is not something that she’s excited about. She hasn’t been excited about anything concerning her dad in a long time. Simply put, she suspects that he started this relationship with her soon-to-be stepmother, before her parents’ divorce. She’s sure this new woman is the cause for said divorce, which is why she doesn’t want to have anything to do with her. Of course, she misses her flight and has to catch the next one.

Sitting there waiting on this next flight is cute British Oliver. [insert swoon here] What can I say, I love British guys. I have numerous tees and tanks that state that very phrase. Moving on…. Oliver just makes me so giddy. He and Hadley spend the first few hours making conversation and eating/drinking away the time for their flight to arrive. During some of this wait, we get flashbacks of before-the-divorce or just father/daughter time, in which Hadley just can’t seem to really forgive her dad of his wrong doing. It’s really hard to comprehend the family situation. Hadley’s thoughts are of happier times. She never recalls any tension between her parents. During the flight, Hadley and Oliver continue on their journey of getting to know one another. After their arrival in London, they lose sight of each other at the airport. But, as you know, if it’s meant to be then you will find one another again. The way that they came together seemed a little to coincidental to me. But, I can see how the author wanted to bring about just what the title of the story states. So, I couldn’t be too sully about it all.

Overall, this book is in my top 10 of great YA Romances. if you haven’t read any of her books, this is a good place to start. Highly recommend!! Quick question. Do you believe in love at first sight? Come on people, tell me that I’m not alone in thinking that it could happen!

reviewstars5of5

12 thoughts on “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. As soon as I saw this post come up on my feed reader I know that you were going to have a positive review. I have seen so many amazing reviews for The Statistical Probability… Why haven’t I read it yet? Because I have a ridunkulously long TBR and can’t get to them all. Great review!

    Like

  2. First, I am a romantic at heart so yes I totally believe in love at first sight! Secondly, I love this book so much! It was the first one I read by Jennifer E. Smith and started not only my obsession with her writing but YA romance in general. Great review!

    Also, I must get me one of these shirts about loving British guys because…yes. Just yes. =)

    Like

    • I’ve been collecting the shirts for years. It all started when I went to Orlando, FL one summer. I saw the shirt while out shopping with the family for souvenirs and I immediately got it. From then on, I’ve been looking everywhere I go.

      Like

  3. I have seen this cover style before and I knew they were all by the same author, but I have never checked out any of her books. It looks like a pretty cool book actually, and when I am in the mood for a romance I am probably going to end up checking this one out! I like the idea of character development and a sweet read ^.^

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

