Those Girls by Lauren Saft

18249315Publication June 9th 2015 by Poppy

Upper Young-Adult, Contemporary

eARC provided by Netgalley

My rating 3 stars

Goodreads | Amazon

Some girls will always have your back, and some girls can’t help but stab you in it.

Junior year, the suburbs of Philadelphia. Alex, Mollie and Veronica are those girls: they’re the best of friends and the party girls of the school. But how well does everybody know them–and really, how well do they know one another? Alex is secretly in love with the boy next door and has joined a band–without telling anyone. Mollie suffers from a popular (and possibly sociopathic) boyfriend, as well as a serious mean streak. And Veronica just wants to be loved–literally, figuratively, physically….she’s not particular. Will this be the year that bonds them forever….or tears them apart for good?

Lauren Saft masterfully conveys what goes on in the mind of a teenage girl, and her debut novel is raw, honest, hilarious, and thought-provoking, with a healthy dose of heart.


*Actual rating 2.5 stars*

REVIEW This book is filled with teenage angst. I can’t say that I enjoyed reading about bitchy hormonal girls being catty, bratty, and all things in between. Then, this stuff really happens everywhere, so I can’t complain too much. Everyone knows a group of “those girls”. I don’t care who you are, you have come across them at some point  in your life, most likely high school. The girls who are as thick as thieves on the outside, but on the inside they are toxic. All of the back stabbing, lies, and secrets just got a little out of hand.

Alex, Veronica, and Mollie are the girls who seem to have it all. But then they don’t. It’s hard to have a great friendship when you aren’t honest about yourself. That was the main problem with these girls. If they had stated their true feelings and opened up to another about what was going on in their lives, I guarantee that they would have been better off. And, God help me, I would not let my young adult read this. Sure this is life, but I wouldn’t want to put this poison inside an impressionable mind. If they are on the right track in their young life, don’t put ideas in their heads. Sex and parties seemed like the underlying theme to this story. I may have thought of calling the health department because this reminded me of that Lifetime movie about the herpes outbreak at a high school. Everyone is sleeping around and partying and just swapping bodily fluids, spreading God knows what.

I think that this book could have been so much better. I get that there are “those girls” in every school, but give them something more than raging hormones and the art of manipulation. Not the worst book that I’ve read. So, there is that.

reviewstars3of5

8 thoughts on “Those Girls by Lauren Saft

  1. Thanks for your honest opinion Lekeisha! I would not want to read about a bunch of back-stabbing and manipulating girls. Everyone sleeping around with everyone else, does not appeal to me. I hope it was realistic and showed the consequences to this type of behavior, such as STD’s. Great Review!

    Like

    • I should have just stuck with 2 stars. 2.5-3 seems like too much. This shouldn’t even be YA. I understand that teens do this, but should one write such taboo material in a book meant for a YA audience? If I were a parent, I would not let my daughter read this.

      Like

  2. I passed up the opportunity to read this one and when I saw it on one of yours Stacking the Shelves I was eager to find out what you thought of it. It’s a shame that this one had potential but kind of stuck to the stereotypes. There is only so much teenage angst I can take even though it is realistic.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

