Alive by Scott Sigler

23278532Publication July 14th 2015 by Del Rey

Young-Adult, Science-Fiction, Dystopia

eARC provided by publisher via Netgalley

My rating 2 stars

Goodreads | Amazon

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.


REVIEW I will try to review this book without spoilers, per the author’s request. Show of hands – who has read Lord of the Flies? The Maze Runner? Well, if you have then you will have a sense of what this book is about. I won’t lie, this book is addicting. As in, you will be so caught up trying to see where it leads that you don’t care that these characters are annoying. I kept reading, and reading, and reading…..

The MC, Em (M. Savage), is somewhat likable. Her obsession with being the leader was annoying. Granted, she was the first to wake within the group. So, you have to ask yourself – just because she woke up first, does that mean she’s fit to lead? Her inner musings consisted of leadership, rules, and looks. She kept going on and on about how everyone was beautiful and getting embarrassed about certain body parts. It was annoying. I liked her for her ability to see the other character’s strengths and weaknesses. She figured out fairly quickly about a character from her group, Yong, and later on Bishop. They bore the same symbol on their foreheads, and their bullying nature was up front and center. Spingate was my favorite character, simply because of how she figured out how things worked. Smart, for someone who has no memory of her life before. There are a slew of other characters that play certain roles and I kept going thinking that I would be satisfied with everyone’s personality and why they were there to start with.

This book lead to nowhere for me. It was like playing follow the leader, and yet you get nowhere. Then around 60% or so, things change, and there are still more questions. The the big reveal at the end doesn’t even matter to me anymore because I was fed up with the book by that time. I think that you will either love or hate this book. It’s just that simple. I know there will be others who find it thrilling, but it’s just not a story that I can continue to follow. If you like stories about human civilization with some dystopia and science-fiction thrown in, then this book is for you. By all means, give it a go. The theme of this book isn’t any different from all the other dystopian novels that I’ve read, but it reminds me so much of Lord of the Flies, that I just can’t continue on with the series. Morals, individuality, religion, debates, leadership – this is basically what you are in store for. It’s a good try, but I think it took way too long to get to the good stuff.

reviewstars2of5

19 thoughts on “Alive by Scott Sigler

  1. Girl I got lost at the blurb when she wakes up trapped and in an enclosed space. iCannot. I hate to read about characters confines against their will or in small tight spaces…get my claustrophobia up. Kudos to you for powering through even thought the majority of the characters, including the MC seem very annoying. I can understand how this could be a book one either really likes or wants to throw against the wall.

    Like

    • It’s kind of horrific to be honest; the things that the characters see. I just wish that the reveal would have come sooner, not at 85% of the book. That just made me angry because it felt like such a waste of words.

      Like

  2. Oh no! It is the most disappointing thing to have all that time wasted to find out that all the reading wasted on getting nowhere at all. I felt so much of the same thing with my book before last. I also didn’t care about the reveal in the end. Here’s to a better book next go around!

    Like

    • There was a lot of “getting nowhere” with the characters. Literally! I think that’s what broke this book for me. Still, I have to say that it ended like the best is yet to come but I won’t be finding out. This book just disappointed me by the time things started to get good.

      Like

  3. Ah, such a shame you couldn’t really like this one so much! I have read The Maze Runner and the Lord of the Flies but I doubt I would like this one so much. I feel like the main character might bother me a lot, and it seems like the book isn’t very eventful. I hope you like your next read some more :/

    Like

    • As this book is labeled YA, I think that you may like it. The premise for this book is what drew me to it to start with. In my opinion, it was executed poorly. This book is filled with lots of mindless drivel from the MC, some of which just needed to be cut. Less talk, more action!

      Like

  4. I just finished writing my review for this and it was so difficult to talk about the book without revealing spoilers! I ended up being in the middle – I didn’t love this book but I certainly didn’t hate it either, and I am actually quite curious to find out what happens next. I definitely understand the Lord of the Flies comparison as well, I said the same thing myself.

    Like

    • I just can’t go on from here. It just isn’t my cup of tea. And this is my favorite genre to read! I really hate that I don’t like it. I was sure that I would love it, but it fell flat for me.

      Like

  5. Uh oh:( that doesn’t sound good. A book that goes absolutely nowhere?? When I first started reading your review I was like awee yayyy Lekeisha seems to really like this book and then I got to the end and saw you in my gave it 2 stars. 😦 I’ve never read nor watched the Maze Runner and I know, I knoowwww I need to. Hehe

    Like

    • This book will either make you want more or you will just not like it. I just can’t read anymore of this trilogy as it comes. Don’t get me wrong, it’s one that needs to be read in order to make the decision. Just don’t take my word for it because you may like it. I liked Lord of the Flies but I don’t want to read a modernized version. As they say, leave well enough alone.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

