Reflected In You (Crossfire #2) by Sylvia Day

13596809Published October 2nd 2012 by Berkley

Reviewed In Series Bared To You

Adult, Contemporary, Erotic, Romance

Purchased Kindle Book

My Rating 5 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Gideon Cross. As beautiful and flawless on the outside as he was damaged and tormented on the inside. He was a bright, scorching flame that singed me with the darkest of pleasures. I couldn’t stay away. I didn’t want to. He was my addiction… my every desire… mine.

My past was as violent as his, and I was just as broken. We’d never work. It was too hard, too painful… except when it was perfect. Those moments when the driving hunger and desperate love were the most exquisite insanity.

We were bound by our need. And our passion would take us beyond our limits to the sweetest, sharpest edge of obsession…


*Actual rating 4.5 stars*

REVIEW I do love me some Gideon Cross. The man has gotten under my skin and I can’t seem to remove him. Eva, on the other hand, slightly disappointed me in this installment. She was too whiny, jealous, and naive – which doesn’t suit her. I understand she has a past that makes her act guarded, but sometimes I wanted to slap her for her behavior. That little show of “get-back” after the concert was one of the many moments that I wanted to sit down and chat with her. I don’t care if you think that he’s sleeping with his ex (even though it all looked suspicious), you don’t try to make him feel what you feel. That could have turned out very badly. You don’t know what someone is capable of when they are faced with the fact that the person they need the most is seeing someone else. People are irrational, and foolishness causes one’s mind to go to dark places, to right what they feel is wrong. Gideon is a man with a troubled past and he could have easily neutralized the threat. Eva’s jealousy has no bounds. I’m almost afraid to read the next book, as I’m beginning to think all that envy will come out full force.

Gideon is no choir boy in the jealousy department, so don’t think I’m excusing his behavior. He can be crazy all on his own, he doesn’t need Eva to self destruct. The sex….. I can’t explain how erotic the act is between this couple. God, that man is a beast. Yet, he can be tender as well, and I think that’s the real reason why I love his character so much. His stamina is out of this world. I am just dumbfounded whenever I read those sex scenes, because… just wow. Yeah, yeah – this is fiction and the author can give him all the endowments she desires. I love it and if she ever tamps it down I will be so disappointed.

As I said in my review of the first book, I love all the supporting characters. Cary, bless his heart. He pissed me off in the first book, but I’m beginning to really see how his past can make him want to believe he’s not worthy. He’s honest about his sexuality and that will break his and Trey’s relationship. Trey needs to stop wanting Cary to be something he’s clearly not, and that’s a straight up homosexual. He’s bisexual down to his very bones and nothing anyone does or says will change that. I think that they should just give up now while it’s still new. I know they love each other, but if they continue it will only end in tragedy. Let it go Mrs. Day! No need to put Cary through all this back and forth drama. Just give him a girl or guy who can handle his sexuality and be happy.

I figured out what was going down at the same time Gideon started pulling away. I don’t understand why Eva didn’t catch on until someone spelled it out for her. She was so caught up in her jealous rant that she didn’t understand what Gideon was saying, without saying it. I’m not shocked at all, and I’m happy that he did what he did. One less problem to worry about. Move on to something else. Eva needs to stay the heck away from his brother. Doesn’t she understand that he will hurt her just to hurt Gideon? Naivety doesn’t suit you Eva. Get a clue. I’m thinking Christopher got sexually abused as well, but that’s yet to be seen.

Overall, I can’t get enough of this series. I’ve heard it gets repetitive from here on out, and I’m not looking forward to that. I do recommend the first two books, at least. Just two troubled individuals trying to build a relationship. Oh, and the hot -as- all- heck sex that transpires is the icing on the cake.

reviewstars5of5

10 thoughts on “Reflected In You (Crossfire #2) by Sylvia Day

  1. I’ve had my eyes on this series. It sounds like I really need to read it! Gideon Cross sound yummy. I love that he’s tender as well as a sexual beast! LOL Eva on the other hand sounds annoying with her whinny attitude and cluelessness. I need to read the first two books. I hope you end up enjoying the rest of the series as well.

    Like

  2. I stopped after this novel. After reading reviews of the succeeding books, I don’t think I can stand the angst. I mean at book 3, I’m hoping things would be calmer for these two… that or they should go to therapy!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

